The 7 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton– Review

the seven deathsSummary: How do you stop a murder that’s already happened?

At a gala party thrown by her parents, Evelyn Hardcastle will be killed–again. She’s been murdered hundreds of times, and each day, Aiden Bishop is too late to save her. Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden’s only escape is to solve Evelyn Hardcastle’s murder and conquer the shadows of an enemy he struggles to even comprehend–but nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

Deeply atmospheric and ingeniously plotted, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a highly original debut that will appeal to fans of Kate Atkinson and Agatha Christie.

Review: 3 stars

This was a very unique murder mystery novel. It was kind of like Groundhog Day, but in order to get out of the repeating loop of the day the character had to solve the mystery. Each day that he woke up he was in a different body, but repeating the same day. It was a very interesting plot to watch play out.

The characters in the story were interesting. Although Aiden’s soul remained with him while he inhabited each body, he also took on a bits of personality of the person whose body he was in. You did still get a picture of who the true Aiden was when his personality would shine through, but at times it was a bit muddled. The way the characters were developed in this story is very different from most, yet still remained captivating.

The plot was cool. I really liked that Aiden took on the different personalities of his hosts, it was interesting to see the different perspectives of the same day. When solving a murder these different ways of thinking came in handy. The murder was extremely hard to solve though. I couldn’t guess who did it and found that even when I had all of the pieces I had a hard time putting it together.

The pacing felt slow to me. It took me a while to finish this book. I think that the jumping from host to host, although very interesting, made the story feel disjointed at times. There were also times where I had a little difficulty keeping track of all of the characters, as there were so many minor and major ones. Stories can have a lot of characters, but minor characters have to be memorable in some way for it to work, otherwise it can get confusing like it did in this book.

Overall I am pretty satisfied with this one. It is very hard to pull something like this off. Stories that mess with time are inherently confusing at different points. I think this could have been done a little better, but for a debut novel it is pretty fantastic. I would be interested to see what Stuart Turton writes next.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “The 7 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton– Review

Add yours

  1. Thanks for sharing this. I have just bought the book because I’m so intrigued by the idea of a different host and the repetition of the day from different perspective. I have heard contrasting opinions on this book, but sinc eit seems to be so very uniwue, I think I’ll give it a try.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: