Little Darlings by Melanie Golding – ARC Review

Little Darlings by Melanie GoldingSummary:

“Mother knows best” takes on a sinister new meaning in this unsettling thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Grimms’ Fairy Tales.

Everyone says Lauren Tranter is exhausted, that she needs rest. And they’re right; with newborn twins, Morgan and Riley, she’s never been more tired in her life. But she knows what she saw: that night, in her hospital room, a woman tried to take her babies and replace them with her own…creatures. Yet when the police arrived, they saw no one. Everyone, from her doctor to her husband, thinks she’s imagining things.

A month passes. And one bright summer morning, the babies disappear from Lauren’s side in a park. But when they’re found, something is different about them. The infants look like Morgan and Riley―to everyone else. But to Lauren, something is off. As everyone around her celebrates their return, Lauren begins to scream, These are not my babies.

Determined to bring her true infant sons home, Lauren will risk the unthinkable. But if she’s wrong about what she saw…she’ll be making the biggest mistake of her life.

Compulsive, creepy, and inspired by some our darkest fairy tales, Little Darlings will have you checking―and rechecking―your own little ones. Just to be sure. Just to be safe.

Review: 4 Stars

Little Darlings tells the tale of every mother’s worst nightmare, that her baby was stolen and exchanged for a monster. As fascinating as changeling stories are, I have not found that there are a ton out there. The only ones that I have read before this are The Replacement and the Trylle series, both of which were great. Little Darlings incorporates folklore into the tale as well, giving it a terrifying edge over the other books I mentioned.

This story had me captivated as I felt so bad for Lauren, the mother of two twin boys who were exchanged for changeling babies. I never knew what to think. I found myself doubting her at times like other characters in the novel. Believing that she was genuinely crazy. She also had a husband who was manipulative and emotionally abusive. Lauren was a character who received my genuine sympathy.

The chapters alternated between Lauren’s story and Harper’s, the detective on the case. This alternating storyline ramped up the tension and kept me on the edge of my seat. This story was filled with so much folklore, but it was the dark kind. The combination of all of this made the story spooky and thrilling at the same time.

I was really excited for this one, and while it was great, I wanted it to have a bit more creepy elements to it. The changeling babies were creepy, but I wanted them to be a bit more sinister. Although it wasn’t exactly as sinister as I wanted it to be and at times I felt like Lauren came across as too crazy, I loved reading this book. It had so much folklore at its core and kept me wanting more. I hope that everyone checks this one out, because it was a great read. If you are looking for a dark thriller this book is for you.

7 thoughts on “Little Darlings by Melanie Golding – ARC Review

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: