Can’t Wait Wednesday – 2/13/19

Can't Wait Wednesday Square.jpg

Can’t Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings based on the meme Waiting on Wednesday by Breaking the Spine. In this weekly post people share a book that they’re excited about being released.

I have always loved reading these posts, looking forward at books that people can’t wait for. But I always find that I want a list and it is just one book. So I decided I would share three books that I can’t wait for. If you click on the title of the book it will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.

wickedtastybyloladodgenonfinalcoverWicked Tasty by Lola Dodge

Pub Date: 3/5/19

For fans of Hex Hall, The Magicians, and Practical Magic

***Contains Spoilers for Sugar Spells (Book #2)***

Finally back in the kitchen, apprentice baking witch Anise Wise is cooking up all kinds of enchanted treats under the semi-watchful eye of her great aunt, Agatha. Anise has a job she loves, a cute and crazy-powerful familiar, and real-life friends she can count on for spellwork and sympathy.

Life is a cozy, quiet dream until the vampire queen of Taos summons Anise for a meet-and-greet. The vamps want a piece of her magic and no one says no to the queen.

Dragged deep into the town’s underbelly, Anise is jammed in the middle of an epic struggle between the Spellwork Syndicate and the frightening powers rising to challenge its control. She’ll need a little help from her friends—and her former bodyguard, Wynn—if she’s going to live to bake another day.

Whether she wins or loses, Anise is headed down one seriously rocky road—and that last bump might be a killer.

I read the first two books in this series and can’t wait for the third to come out. I loved these books and think that they are super underrated. Check out my reviews for Deadly Sweet and Sugar Spells.

saving meghan.jpgSaving Meghan by D.J. Palmer

Pub Date: 4/9/19

Can you love someone to death?

Some would say Becky Gerard is a devoted mother and would do anything for her only child. Others claim she’s obsessed and can’t stop the vicious circle of finding a cure at her daughter’s expense.

Fifteen-year-old Meghan has been in and out of hospitals with a plague of unexplained illnesses. But when the ailments take a sharp turn, doctors intervene and immediately suspect Munchausen syndrome by proxy, a rare behavioral disorder where the primary caretaker, typically the mother, seeks medical help for made-up symptoms of a child. Is this what’s going on? Or is there something even more sinister at hand?

I find Munchausen syndrome to be very interesting. I can’t wait to read this as I actually have a review copy that came in the mail a while ago. I have been waiting to read it because it doesn’t come out until April.

Bloodleaf by Crystal Smith.jpgBloodleaf by Crystal Smith

Pub Date: 3/12/19

Perfect for fans of RED QUEEN and UPROOTED, Crystal Smith’s debut novel, BLOODLEAF, is an imaginative retelling of the Grimm Fairy tale “The Goose Girl” that takes a ghostly mystery and sets it inside an epic fantasy world.

Aurelia is the first princess born to the Renalten crown in two hundred years, destined to fulfill a treaty by journeying to marry Valentin, the prince of Achelva – Renalt’s greatest enemy. Rumors of an unwell, cruel prince abound, and the only thing that eclipses Aurelia’s apprehension of her impending marriage is her fear of those who’d kill her to prevent it.

When an assassination attempt forces Aurelia to use forbidden magic to save a stranger, she is driven from Renalt by the witch-hunting Tribunal and a mob out for blood. But before she can claim asylum in the court of her betrothed, her travel party turns on her, forcing her to trade places with her treacherous lady-in-waiting, Lisette.

Now penniless in Achleva and bereft of her identity, Aurelia must decide if she wants to surrender to her new life or fight for her old one, all while navigating the complicated ties binding her to the enigmatic prince, the unquiet ghost of an ancient queen, and a poisonous plant called bloodleaf.

Aurelia is a pawn in a centuries-long game of love, power, and war— and if she can’t extricate herself from it before Lisette marries Valentin in her stead, she may face losses far more devastating than her crown.

I have wanted a copy of this ever since I laid my eyes on the cover, but vanity aside it is a retelling of the Grimm Fairy tale “The Goose Girl”. I love re-tellings of Grimm fairy tales as they are a little bit darker than other re-tellings.

 

Let’s Chat!

What books can you not wait for? Are you excited for the books I listed? Have you read any of them yet? Have you read any other titles that any of these authors have written? Make sure to comment so we can talk about titles we can’t wait to read!

4 thoughts on “Can’t Wait Wednesday – 2/13/19

Add yours

Leave a Reply to Jules_Writes Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: