Guess Who by Chris McGeorge – Review

guess who by chris megeorge.jpgSummary:

A debut thriller that offers a fresh, modern twist on the classic “locked room” mystery novel, for readers of Noah Hawley and Jeffery Deaver

The rules are simple.

But the game is not.

At eleven years old, Morgan Sheppard solved the murder of a teacher when everyone else believed it to be a suicide. The publicity surrounding the case laid the foundation for his reputation as a modern-day Sherlock Holmes. He parlayed that fame into a gig as TV’s “resident detective,” solving the more typical tawdry daytime talk show mysteries like “Who is the father?” and “Is he cheating?”

Until, that is, Sheppard wakes up handcuffed to a bed in an unfamiliar hotel room. Around him, five strangers are slowly waking up, as well. Soon they discover a corpse in the bathtub and Sheppard is challenged to put his deductive skills to the test. One of the people in the room is the killer. He has three hours to solve the murder. If he doesn’t find the killer, they all will die.

An ingenious, page-turning debut, Chris McGeorge’s Guess Who matches the high-wire plotting of classic “locked room” mysteries into the unstoppable pacing of the modern-day thriller.

 Review: 4 Stars

Guess Who is a title that I have had for months, but just recently decided to read. I love playing detective when reading murder mystery novels and I saw that this one was classified as a whodunit mystery, meaning one that the reader can figure out. While reading I tried really hard to figure the mystery out, but I didn’t guess correctly. Guess Who reminded me of the Saw movies. A celebrity detective, Morgan Sheppard, and 5 other people were locked in a hotel room with a dead body and Morgan Sheppard was given three hours to figure out who the murderer was. As clues were uncovered and ties to the victim were questioned I found myself more and more captivated with this story. This is a fabulous debut for Chris McGeorge.

The characters were pretty interesting. Morgan Sheppard was a very morally grey character, which I love to read about. He had a love of fame and didn’t really care who he stepped on to get it. He was extremely flawed and a well written character, even if I found myself not liking him all the time, I did relate to him because he was so imperfect, so human. The story also included flashbacks to his past, which really helped with character development and a few clues to the mystery as well.

The plot was really riveting. I loved the way everything was laid out and I played detective while reading, highlighting and taking notes on parts that I thought could be clues. I actually wound up highlighting a big clue that I didn’t see for everything that it was. I was so disappointed that I didn’t solve it once I realized that the answer was right under my nose. Guess Who was a lot of fun to read and try to solve. I haven’t read a ton of whodunit mysteries, as I have focused more on psychological thrillers and cozy mysteries lately, but with this introduction to the genre I would love to explore it further in the future.

If you love to play Sherlock Holmes while reading mysteries I would highly recommend reading this book. It started off feeling a bit like Saw, but is certainly more of a mystery than a horror novel. The morally questionable lead character and a mystery that could actually be solved if you pay close enough attention really made this book stand out in the mystery genre. I had a lot of fun reading this novel and can’t wait to see what Chris McGeorge will write next.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: