Can’t Wait Wednesday – 4/17/29

Can't Wait Wednesday Square.jpg

Can’t Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings based on the meme Waiting on Wednesday by Breaking the Spine. In this weekly post people share a book that they’re excited about being released.

I have always loved reading these posts, looking forward at books that people can’t wait for. But I always find that I want a list and it is just one book. So I decided I would share three books that I can’t wait for. If you click on the title of the book it will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.

serpent and Dove by shelby mahurin.jpgSerpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin

Pub Date: 9/3/19 by HarperTeen

Bound as one, to love, honor, or burn. Book one of a stunning fantasy duology, this tale of witchcraft and forbidden love is perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Sara Holland.

Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. There, witches like Lou are hunted. They are feared. And they are burned.

As a huntsman of the Church, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle: Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live. But when Lou pulls a wicked stunt, the two are forced into an impossible situation—marriage.

Lou, unable to ignore her growing feelings, yet powerless to change what she is, must make a choice. And love makes fools of us all.

Set in a world of powerful women, dark magic, and off-the-charts romance, book one of this stunning fantasy duology will leave readers burning for more.

This book keeps showing up on Goodreads as a book that reader’s also enjoyed when I am browsing titles that I am interested in. It appears to be an enemies to lovers romance between a witch and a witch hunter. Also, I have always LOVED the ouroboros symbol so that cover grabbed my attention. This title is pretty high on my wish list. I asked the publishers for an ARC and am hoping this shows up on Netgalley or Edelweiss soon.

gravemaidens by kelly coon.jpgGravemaidens by Kelly Coon

Pub Date: 8/29/19 by Delacorte Press

The start of a fierce fantasy duology about three maidens who are chosen for their land’s greatest honor…and one girl determined to save her sister from the grave.

In the walled city-state of Alu, Kammani wants nothing more than to become the accomplished healer her father used to be before her family was cast out of their privileged life in shame.

When Alu’s ruler falls deathly ill, Kammani’s beautiful little sister, Nanaea, is chosen as one of three sacred maidens to join him in the afterlife. It’s an honor. A tradition. And Nanaea believes it is her chance to live an even grander life than the one that was stolen from her.

But Kammani sees the selection for what it really is—a death sentence.

Desperate to save her sister, Kammani schemes her way into the palace to heal the ruler. There she discovers more danger lurking in the sand-stone corridors than she could have ever imagined and that her own life—and heart—are at stake. But Kammani will stop at nothing to dig up the palace’s buried secrets even if it means sacrificing everything…including herself.

As soon as I saw the cover of Gravemaidens I thought it looked similar to a thurible from Days of Blood and Starlight, which is one of my favorite series. The blurb only enticed me further. I am dying for an ARC of this title! I asked the publishers for an ARC and requested one from Netgalley as well.

the dragon republic by r.f. kuangThe Dragon Republic by R.F. Kuang

Pub Date: 8/6/19 by Harper Voyager

Since I only read the blurb of The Poppy War after reading the book and found that it gave away most of the story, I decided not to include the blurb of The Dragon Republic. I suggest you read my review of The Poppy War if you are trying to decide if this series is for you. If you love intricate high fantasy with three dimensional characters in a Chinese inspired setting, then I would highly recommend it!

 

I absolutely LOVED The Poppy War and was thrilled to get a review copy of it’s sequel The Dragon Republic. I have had an extremely hard time waiting to read this review copy until closer to publication. The Poppy War is among my favorite reads of 2019 and I am hopeful that The Dragon Republic will live up to it’s predecessor.

 

Let’s Chat!

Are you looking forward to any of these titles? What upcoming books are high on your wish list? Are there any upcoming sequels you are dying to get your hands on? Have you heard of these titles? Make sure to comment below so we can chat about the books you can’t wait for!

 

13 thoughts on “Can’t Wait Wednesday – 4/17/29

Add yours

  1. Thanks for helping me add new stuff to my TBR! (; But I really need to finally get around to The Poppy War, but I’ve been on a re-reading binge lately lol. Hope you get the ARCs you requested!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: