There Will Come a Darkness by Katy Rose Pool – ARC Review

There Will Come a Darkness by Katy Rose Pool.jpgSummary:

The Age of Darkness approaches.
Five lives stand in its way.
Who will stop it… or unleash it?

For generations, the Seven Prophets guided humanity. Using their visions of the future, they ended wars and united nations―until the day, one hundred years ago, when the Prophets disappeared.

All they left behind was one final, secret prophecy, foretelling an Age of Darkness and the birth of a new Prophet who could be the world’s salvation . . . or the cause of its destruction. As chaos takes hold, five souls are set on a collision course:

A prince exiled from his kingdom.
A ruthless killer known as the Pale Hand.
A once-faithful leader torn between his duty and his heart.
A reckless gambler with the power to find anything or anyone.
And a dying girl on the verge of giving up.

One of them―or all of them―could break the world. Will they be savior or destroyer? Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Children of Blood and Bone, and An Ember in the Ashes.

Review: 4 Stars

My experience with There Will Come a Darkness proved to me that certain books need to be read at the right time. The first time I tried to read this book was right after I had finished The Final Empire and I couldn’t get into it. I was burnt out and had a major book hangover. I needed something light and fast paced, so I wound up setting the book aside. I returned to it when I was ready and I’m really glad that I did because There Will Come a Darkness was one of my most anticipated fall releases and it didn’t disappoint. (Check out my most anticipated releases here!)

In the beginning I did struggle a bit because there were five different points of view, each with their own story line. Once I finally got the characters straight I found that I absolutely loved each character in different ways. Ephyra was my favorite because she was a bit morally grey and she would do absolutely anything for her sister. The relationship between her and her sister gave me slight Sadie vibes even, which if you remember my review of Sadie you know how much I loved that book. Once the character’s story lines started to converge I found myself becoming really invested in the story. The characters were developed pretty well and they each found a special place in my heart.

The world building was pretty cool too. I thought that the four different Graces were pretty fascinating, but wish that we could have seen more of the Grace of Mind and the special objects that people could make with it, but I have a feeling that we will get more of that in book two. The prophecy was interesting as well. I’ve always found prophecies fascinating and this one was done pretty well and I loved how it played out. This book had some really cool world building, but I hope that the sequel expands upon it a bit more.

The plot was really well done. While I did see some of the twists coming, some of them caught me completely off guard. I love how it all came together and found myself pleased with the ending, but also wanting more. I am excited for the sequel because there are so many things that I want to happen next and I can’t wait to see where the story will go after everything that happened in this first installment. I am so glad that I waited to read this story at the right time so that I could appreciate it for what it was. If you like dark fantasies I would highly recommend There Will Come a Darkness.

23 thoughts on “There Will Come a Darkness by Katy Rose Pool – ARC Review

Add yours

      1. There were a lot of characters. I kept thinking soldier girl was going to he more than she was. But I couldnt confuse Hassan for Jude… but Jude was my everything too.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. lol yeah you liked Jude more than I did. I also confused Hassan and Hector at times because they both had names that started with H. Once I was a bit further in I didn’t confuse them anymore. Even after what happened at the end I still love Ephrya…

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I have thought of reading this book and your review just convinced me of it! But I have a question, is it high fantasy or is good for someone who is not used to read fantasy? Love your review btw. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s high fantasy. High fantasy just means fantasy written in another world rather than Earth. More than the world building it has a lot of characters, so if you can keep up with multiple POV’s you should be fine.

      Like

      1. Oooh thanks for that, I always thought that ‘high fantasy’ meant on the world and magic building. Thank you for being the first to explain it to me. 🙂 I’ll keep that book in my TBR.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: