Top 5 Books About Dragons I Want to Read

Top 5 Books About Dragons I want to Read.png

This Top 5 series started back in October and I kind of lost motivation for making it every week. But it’s back! This is a series of books that I want to read that all have a common theme. Previously on the blog I have focused on witches, werewolves, thrillers, faeries, fairy tale re-tellings, high fantasy and many more. I am going to try and bring this series back for every Saturday.

The upcoming schedule is:

8/24/19 — Books about Dragons

8/31/19 — Books with a Road Trip

9/7/19 — Summer Reads

9/14/19 — Set in Space

9/21/19 — Over 500 Pages 

9/28/19 — Books with Maps

Rules!

  • Share your top 5 books of the current topic– these can be books that you want to read, have read and loved, have read and hated, you can do it any way you want.
  • Tag the original post (This one!)
  • Tag 5 people

 

Dragons

I haven’t read a ton of books about dragons, but I have always wanted to! I have a whole bunch of books that have dragons in them on my TBR list. I did read and watch Game of Thrones, so that is where I started to love dragons. Even though dragons showed up  in Harry Potter, I feel like I didn’t fall in love with them until Game of Thrones. I also recently read The Bone Ships which was about a sea dragon and The Black Witch which had a dragon in it as well. I feel like they used to be in fairy tales and then they weren’t in stories for a long time, but I feel like recently they’ve started to get popular again! Maybe because of Game of Thrones. I am very excited to share these titles with you, and once again I struggled to get this list down to only 5 books.


Fireborne by Rosaria Munda.jpgFireborne by Rosaria Munda

Publication Date: October 15th, 2019

Game of Thrones meets Red Rising in a debut young adult fantasy that’s full of rivalry, romance… and dragons.

Annie and Lee were just children when a brutal revolution changed their world, giving everyone—even the lowborn—a chance to test into the governing class of dragonriders.

Now they are both rising stars in the new regime, despite backgrounds that couldn’t be more different. Annie’s lowborn family was executed by dragonfire, while Lee’s aristocratic family was murdered by revolutionaries. Growing up in the same orphanage forged their friendship, and seven years of training have made them rivals for the top position in the dragonriding fleet.

But everything changes when survivors from the old regime surface, bent on reclaiming the city.

With war on the horizon and his relationship with Annie changing fast, Lee must choose to kill the only family he has left or to betray everything he’s come to believe in. And Annie must decide whether to protect the boy she loves . . . or step up to be the champion her city needs.

From debut author Rosaria Munda comes a gripping adventure that calls into question which matters most: the family you were born into, or the one you’ve chosen.

I really wanted an ARC of this, but got denied for an eARC. I mentioned online that Fireborne was one of the titles that I really wanted to read and someone mailed me a copy! I am very excited to read this one! I can’t believe I wound up with a copy!

Don't Call the Wolf by Aleksandra Ross.jpgDon’t Call the Wolf by Aleksandra Ross

Publication Date: April 28th, 2020

A forest, besieged. A queen, unyielding. Fans of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black will devour this deliciously dark Eastern European–inspired YA fantasy debut.

When the Golden Dragon descended on the forest of Kamiena, a horde of monsters followed in its wake.

Ren, the forest’s young queen, is slowly losing her battle against them. Until she rescues Lukasz—the last survivor of a heroic regiment of dragon slayers—and they strike a deal. She will help him find his brother, who vanished into her forest… if Lukasz promises to slay the Dragon.

But promises are all too easily broken.

This is a 2020 ARC that I have and I’m pretty excited for it! It’s a debut novel so I hope that I enjoy it and get to discover a new author. It’s supposed to be dark and has Eastern European influences, so I really can’t wait to get to this one! Unfortunately I will have to wait to read it for a while!

The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon.jpgThe Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon

A world divided.
A queendom without an heir.
An ancient enemy awakens.

The House of Berethnet has ruled Inys for a thousand years. Still unwed, Queen Sabran the Ninth must conceive a daughter to protect her realm from destruction—but assassins are getting closer to her door.

Ead Duryan is an outsider at court. Though she has risen to the position of lady-in-waiting, she is loyal to a hidden society of mages. Ead keeps a watchful eye on Sabran, secretly protecting her with forbidden magic.

Across the dark sea, Tané has trained all her life to be a dragonrider, but is forced to make a choice that could see her life unravel.

Meanwhile, the divided East and West refuse to parley, and forces of chaos are rising from their sleep.

When this came out everyone I know was raving about it. I am a bit intimidated by it’s length, but I really want to read it. I love long fantasy novels when I actually read them. Despite how intimidated I am by this book I really want to read it. It’s been a long time since I read the Song of Ice and Fire series, and I just really loved having a super long fantasy with dragons in it.

The Last Namsara by Kristen Ciccarelli.jpgThe Last Namsara by Kristen Ciccarelli

In the beginning, there was the Namsara: the child of sky and spirit, who carried love and laughter wherever he went. But where there is light, there must be darkness—and so there was also the Iskari. The child of blood and moonlight. The destroyer. The death-bringer.

These are the legends that Asha, daughter of the king of Firgaard, has grown up learning in hushed whispers, drawn to the forbidden figures of the past. But it isn’t until she becomes the fiercest, most feared dragon slayer in the land that she takes on the role of the next Iskari—a lonely destiny that leaves her feeling more like a weapon than a girl.

Asha conquers each dragon and brings its head to the king, but no kill can free her from the shackles that await at home: her betrothal to the cruel commandant, a man who holds the truth about her nature in his palm. When she’s offered the chance to gain her freedom in exchange for the life of the most powerful dragon in Firgaard, she finds that there may be more truth to the ancient stories than she ever could have expected. With the help of a secret friend—a slave boy from her betrothed’s household—Asha must shed the layers of her Iskari bondage and open her heart to love, light, and a truth that has been kept from her.

This book looks absolutely incredible. A fierce female main character who is also a princess, dragons and a betrothal to someone she doesn’t want to marry. This book has flown a bit under the radar, but once again it’s one I’ve heard nothing but good things about.

Eragon by Christopher Paolini.jpgEragon by Christopher Paolini

One boy…
One dragon…
A world of adventure.

When Eragon finds a polished blue stone in the forest, he thinks it is the lucky discovery of a poor farm boy; perhaps it will buy his family meat for the winter. But when the stone brings a dragon hatchling, Eragon soon realizes he has stumbled upon a legacy nearly as old as the Empire itself.

Overnight his simple life is shattered, and he is thrust into a perilous new world of destiny, magic, and power. With only an ancient sword and tge advice of an old storyteller for guidance, Eragon and the fledgling dragon must navigate the dangerous terrain and dark enemies of an Empire ruled by a king whose evil knows no bounds.

Can Eragon take up the mantle of the legendary Dragon Riders? The fate of the Empire may rest in his hands.

I have had a copy of this book forever, but have never read it. When someone in my real life recommended I finally read it, this book got moved up my TBR. I think the only reason that I never read it is that I bought my copy when I was too young to read it. I think it may finally be time to read this one because it sounds really magical.


Tagged!

Jolie @ Read With Me — Check out her post linked below!

Nandini @ Unputdownable Books

Kitty Marie @ Kitty Marie’s Reading Corner

Clo @ Book Dragons

Kay @ Hammock of Books

Check out other book blogger’s top 5!

Susan @ Novel Lives — Saturday Tag- Top Five Books I Have Read Or Want To Read With Dragons

Leelynn @ Sometimes Leelynn Reads — Top 5 Saturday: Books about Dragons

Dini @ Dini Panda Reads — Top 5 Saturday: Dragons!

Roo @ By the 100th Page — Top 5: Books About Dragons

Sara @ My Year of Reading Dangerously — Top 5 Books About Dragons | Top 5 Saturdays

Jolie @ Read with Me — Top 5 Books About Dragons that I have read/want to read

Blair @ Feed the Crime — || | Top 5 Saturday… Books with Dragons on my TBR| ||

Louise @ Foxes and Fairy Tales: Book Blog — Top 5 Books about Dragons

 

Let’s Chat!

What is your favorite things about dragons? What are some of your favorite books about dragons? Have you read any of these books? Which ones should I put at the top of my TBR? Make sure to comment below so we can talk about books about dragons!

45 thoughts on “Top 5 Books About Dragons I Want to Read

Add yours

  1. A lot of these books are on my TBR too! I have actually read the Eragon books, and while they start off really well, I will say I was disappointed by the last book. The first two are definitely great, though!
    Have you read Eon and Eona? Those are also great dragon books!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I also want to read fireborne, it sounds good! And the last namsara is one of my favourite books, so I hope you will love it as well!

    (www.evelynreads.com)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Have you read The . Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro which has Sir Gawain (part of King Arthur’s round table crowd) given the task of slaying a dragon. I like Ishiguro but this one had a bit too much fantasy element so I never bought it. But then I like King Arthur related stuff … Dilemma!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The Priory of the Orange Tree has been staring at me all summer. I read mostly ebooks, so had kind of forgotten how big fantasy books can be. I’m really hoping to get started on it soon, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great list! I included Eragon on mine too but I think I need to re-read it soon because I really don’t remember much about it now (it’s been ages since I read it) 😅 Don’t Call the Wolf looks and sounds really good! Will have to check that one out. I’m excited to (finally) be reading Priory in September! I’m still intimidated but with a buddy read I’m feeling more capable of tackling it lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: