A Thousand Fires by Shannon Price — Blog Tour with Giveaway

A Thousand Fires by Shannon Price Blog Tour Banner.png

A Thousand Fires Blog Tour

A thousand fires by shannon priceSummary:

Shannon Price’s A Thousand Fires is a breakout contemporary debut―think The Outsiders meets The Iliad―that’s perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Veronica Roth.

10 Years. 3 Gangs. 1 Girl’s Epic Quest…

Valerie Simons knows the city’s gang wars are dangerous—her own brother was killed by the Boars two years ago. But nothing will sway her from joining the elite and beautiful Herons to avenge his death—a death she feels responsible for.

But when Valerie is recruited by the mysterious Stags, their charismatic and volatile leader Jax promises to help her get revenge. Torn between old love and new loyalty, Valerie fights to stay alive as she races across the streets of San Francisco to finish the mission that got her into the gangs.

output
Check out this photo on Instagram!

Review: 4 Stars

A Thousand Fires was an absolutely incredible read that I found myself tearing right through. Books that are about criminals are my catnip, so I’m not surprised that I loved this book about gang wars in San Francisco. A Thousand Fires is marketed as a re-telling of The Illiad and while I never read The Illiad I know about it and I know a lot about Greek and Roman mythology. I had expected this book to have some fantasy elements because of the comparison, but there weren’t any. Typically I would be really bummed about the fact that a book I thought would have fantasy elements didn’t turn out to be a fantasy at all, but this book was amazing just the way it was and if I knew it wasn’t a fantasy ahead of time I might not have given it a chance.

By the end of the first chapter I was so intrigued and I knew that I was already hooked by Shannon Price. The plot of A Thousand Fires is about 3 gangs fighting against each other, but the story didn’t just focus on the criminal elements of gang life, but also the politics and corruption of the city. The ways that the gangs contolled the city of San Francisco reminded me of how the mob used to be a controlling force in NYC. The corruption of the city and the politics of rival gangs make this book a fascinating read. This isn’t just a book about gang violence and trivial vendettas, this is also a book about scheming and plotting to help turn a city around.

The plot had me intrigued, but it was the characters that got me so invested in this story. Valerie found a family within the stags and the close relationships between the gang members felt so realistic. Found families are something I love to read about and I think that this one was done really well because I really cared about each character. Valerie was a great main character because she was so relatable and it was easy to sympathize with her. The death of her brother was her reason for getting involved with the Wars and her pain and grief were both conveyed so well that I felt like I really understood her. I think the teenage portrayal of the characters were done very well. I felt like I could see myself during my own teenage years in each of the characters throughout the story. All of the characters felt so real and were written so well.

While the characters truly made the story what it is I don’t feel that I can say that this novel was character driven, or even plot driven. Shannon Price did a fabulous job of balancing an intriguing plot with characters that felt like real people. I’m so glad that I stumbled upon this book because it was so worth the read. I think this was a great debut YA novel and I can’t wait to see what Shannon Price writes next.

 

Pre-Order Links:

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2PCGACP

Barnes & Noble: https://bit.ly/32cGDYQ

Book Depository: https://bit.ly/2JH0BEo

Indiebound: https://bit.ly/323TbkT


Shannon Price.jpgAuthor Information:

Shannon Price is a YA author living in the San Francisco Bay Area. After graduating from Santa Clara University with a degree in English, she interned and later worked for Counterpoint Press in Berkeley, CA. As a publicist at Counterpoint, she garnered coverage for her clients’ books in media outlets like the New York TimesWashington PostWall Street JournalEntertainment Weekly, and many more.

 

In 2014, she was accepted into the Scottish Universities’ International Summer School at the University of Edinburgh where she studied Creative Writing and Contemporary Literature under the tutelage of best-selling Irish writer Ruth Gilligan. In college, she worked as the Art Editor of the Santa Clara Review and represented the Review at AWP 2015 in Minneapolis, MN. She was a mentor in the second round of Author Mentor Match and regularly attends writing events around the Bay Area.

Author website: https://spricewrites.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/17716119.Shannon_Price

Twitter: https://twitter.com/spricewrites

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/spricewrites/


Giveaway!

A Rafflecopter Giveaway!


A Thousand Fires Blog Tour Schedule.png

Follow the Blog Tour!

A THOUSAND FIRES BY SHANNON PRICE

NOVEMBER 4 (MONDAY)

Karina — Afire Pages (Welcome Post)

 

NOVEMBER 5 (TUESDAY)

Kate — Your Tita Kate (Creative Option – Aesthetic)

Mandy — Devouring Books (Review)

 

NOVEMBER 6 (WEDNESDAY)

Caitlin — Caitlin Althea (Creative Feature and Aesthetic)

Michelle — Love, Stars and Books (Review Post)

 

NOVEMBER 7 (THURSDAY)

Gayatri Saikia — Bewitching Worlds (Review Post)

Nadège — Planète Diversité (Review Post, Creative Option)

 

NOVEMBER 8 (FRIDAY)

Danielle Micah — DMCIreadsblog (Review Post)

Carmel — Bookablereads (Review Post)

 

NOVEMBER 11 (MONDAY)

Camillea — Camillea Reads (Review Post)

Luci — Lunarlucibooks (Review Post)

 

NOVEMBER 12 (TUESDAY)

Rachel — In Between Book Pages (Review Post)

 

NOVEMBER 13 (WEDNESDAY)

Kath — The Last Reader (Review Post)

Jen — Jen D Bibliophile (Review Post)

 

NOVEMBER 14 (THURSDAY)

Myta — Oro Plata Myta (Review Post)

Angela — Hiding Behind Books (Review Post)

 

NOVEMBER 15 (FRIDAY)

Lori — Lori’s Bookshelf Reads  (Review Post)

Bec — Bec & Books (Review Post)

 

NOVEMBER 16 (SATURDAY)

Karlita — Tale Out Loud (Wrap Up Post)

3 thoughts on “A Thousand Fires by Shannon Price — Blog Tour with Giveaway

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: