Top 5 Books with Beautiful Covers I Want to Read

Top 5 books with beautiful covers I want to read

This Top 5 series started back in October 2018 and I kind of lost motivation for making it every week. But it’s back! This is a series of books that I want to read that all have a common theme. Previously on the blog I have focused on witches, werewolves, thrillers, faeries, fairy tale re-tellings, high fantasy and many more. I am going to try and bring this series back for every Saturday.

The Upcoming Schedule Is:

2/29/20 — Books inspired by Mythology

3/7/20 — Trilogies

3/14/20 — Books with Beautiful Covers

3/21/20 — Magical Realism

3/28/20 — Murder Mystery

 

**I know I’m late, but I was on vacation and then with all of this corona virus stuff I haven’t been focusing on the blog.**


Rules!

  • Share your top 5 books of the current topic– these can be books that you want to read, have read and loved, have read and hated, you can do it any way you want.
  • Tag the original post (This one!)
  • Tag 5 people

Beautiful Covers

Okay so we all know that they tell you not to judge a book by it’s cover. But I don’t think any of us can deny that a beautiful cover grabs your attention. I will admit that I have picked up many books JUST because of their covers! I love bright and gorgeous images on covers. I am not a huge fan of illustrated covers, or covers focused on people. I love blues and purples, flowers and beautiful lettering. My sister is actually a graphic designer and a while back she was going through my books and telling me how they would design each cover and ever since then it has made me appreciate a beautiful cover so much more.

The Kinder Poison by Natalie MaeThe Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae

Perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Holly Black, this enthralling fantasy adventure follows a teenage girl chosen to be the human sacrifice in a deadly game between three heirs who will do anything for the crown.

Zahru has long dreamed of leaving the kingdom of Orkena and having the kinds of adventures she’s only ever heard about in stories. But as a lowly Whisperer, her power to commune with animals means that her place is serving in the royal stables until the day her magic runs dry.

All that changes when the ailing ruler invokes the Crossing: a death-defying race across the desert, in which the first of his heirs to finish—and take the life of a human sacrifice at the journey’s end—will ascend to the throne and be granted unparalleled abilities.

With all of the kingdom abuzz, Zahru leaps at the chance to change her fate if just for a night by sneaking into the palace for a taste of the revelry. But the minor indiscretion turns into a deadly mistake when she gets caught up in a feud between the heirs and is forced to become the Crossing’s human sacrifice. Zahru is left with only one hope for survival: somehow figuring out how to overcome the most dangerous people in the world.

I have wanted a copy of this book ever since I saw the cover. There is just something about it that is so beautiful to me. I think it just looks so sharp! This fantasy is close to the top of my wish list and I have super high hopes for it!


Incarnate by Jodi MeadowsIncarnate by Jodi Meadows

New soul

Ana is new. For thousands of years in Range, a million souls have been reincarnated over and over, keeping their memories and experiences from previous lifetimes. When Ana was born, another soul vanished, and no one knows why.

No soul

Even Ana’s own mother thinks she’s a nosoul, an omen of worse things to come, and has kept her away from society. To escape her seclusion and learn whether she’ll be reincarnated, Ana travels to the city of Heart, but its citizens are afraid of what her presence means. When dragons and sylph attack the city, is Ana to blame?

Heart

Sam believes Ana’s new soul is good and worthwhile. When he stands up for her, their relationship blooms. But can he love someone who may live only once, and will Ana’s enemies—human and creature alike—let them be together? Ana needs to uncover the mistake that gave her someone else’s life, but will her quest threaten the peace of Heart and destroy the promise of reincarnation for all?

Jodi Meadows expertly weaves soul-deep romance, fantasy, and danger into an extraordinary tale of new life.

Gosh, this book is just SO beautiful! I can’t get over it. I need a copy of this one! I love the concept too, I have never read many books about reincarnation at all, so this dystopian sounds fascinating. I have actually really wanted to read more dystopians lately too, so I’m really glad this book has come back across my radar.

Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida CordovaLabyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova

I was chosen by the Deos. Even gods make mistakes.

Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation…and she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, leaving her alone with Nova, a brujo she can’t trust, but who may be Alex’s only chance at saving her family.

AHHH! LOOK AT THAT COVER! This book is everything I want! I want to get my hands on this one so bad. The only reason that I haven’t read this yet is because I don’t have a copy. I almost bought a copy too, but it had an alternate cover, and I NEED this cover in my collection!

Ever Cursed by Corey Ann HayduEver Cursed by Corey Ann Haydu

Damsel meets A Heart in a Body in the World in this incisive and lyrical feminist fairy tale about a princess determined to save her sisters from a curse, even if it means allying herself with the very witch who cast it.

The Princesses of Ever are beloved by the kingdom and their father, the King. They are cherished, admired.

Cursed.

Jane, Alice, Nora, Grace, and Eden carry the burden of being punished for a crime they did not commit, or even know about. They are each cursed to be Without one essential thing—the ability to eat, sleep, love, remember, or hope. And their mother, the Queen, is imprisoned, frozen in time in an unbreakable glass box.

But when Eden’s curse sets in on her thirteenth birthday, the princesses are given the opportunity to break the curse, preventing it from becoming a True Spell and dooming the princesses for life. To do this, they must confront the one who cast the spell—Reagan, a young witch who might not be the villain they thought—as well as the wickedness plaguing their own kingdom…and family.

Told through the eyes of Reagan and Jane—the witch and the bewitched—this insightful twist of a fairy tale explores power in a patriarchal kingdom not unlike our own.

This is a perfect cover for a book that sounds like such a fairy tale. Honestly I wanted this without even reading what the book was about… I know, don’t judge a book by its cover, but did you see the cover? Okay, okay, I did read the blurb too, and I still really want to read it.

The Beautiful by Renee AhdeihThe Beautiful by Renee Ahdieh

In 1872, New Orleans is a city ruled by the dead. But to seventeen-year-old Celine Rousseau, New Orleans provides her a refuge after she’s forced to flee her life as a dressmaker in Paris. Taken in by the sisters of the Ursuline convent along with six other girls, Celine quickly becomes enamored with the vibrant city from the music to the food to the soirées and—especially—to the danger. She soon becomes embroiled in the city’s glitzy underworld, known as La Cour des Lions, after catching the eye of the group’s leader, the enigmatic Sébastien Saint Germain. When the body of one of the girls from the convent is found in the lair of La Cour des Lions, Celine battles her attraction to him and suspicions about Sébastien’s guilt along with the shame of her own horrible secret.

When more bodies are discovered, each crime more gruesome than the last, Celine and New Orleans become gripped by the terror of a serial killer on the loose—one Celine is sure has set her in his sights . . . and who may even be the young man who has stolen her heart. As the murders continue to go unsolved, Celine takes matters into her own hands and soon uncovers something even more shocking: an age-old feud from the darkest creatures of the underworld reveals a truth about Celine she always suspected simmered just beneath the surface.

At once a sultry romance and a thrilling murder mystery, master storyteller Renée Ahdieh embarks on her most potent fantasy series yet: The Beautiful.

I love this cover! I am so glad to see a popular book about vampires out there! Lately I feel like vampires aren’t as popular as they used to be, so I’m glad to see them making a comeback. I just love how the cover is a dress out of rose petals. I love the contrast and think that it’s just so simply beautiful.


Check out other book blogger’s top 5!

Allisa @ Allisa White’s Book Blog — The 5 Most Beautiful Covers on my Shelf (According to My Husband)

Blair @ Feed the Crime —-|Beautiful Books on My TBR… Top 5 Saturday|-

Becky @ Becky’s Book Blog —It’s B E A Utiful! Top 5 Saturday

Dini @ Dinipandareads — Top 5 Saturday: Books with Beautiful Covers

Yolanda @ Past Midnight —Top 5 Saturday |3/14/20

Jill @ Jill’s Book Blog — Top 5 Saturday — Books With Beautiful Covers

Let’s Chat!!

What are some books with beautiful covers that you’ve loved? What kinds of covers do you like the best? Have you read any of these titles? What did you think? What books with beautiful covers do you recommend?

 

 

15 thoughts on “Top 5 Books with Beautiful Covers I Want to Read

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: