Can’t Wait Wednesday — 6/10/20

Can't Wait Wednesday

Can’t Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings based on the meme Waiting on Wednesday by Breaking the Spine. In this weekly post people share a book that they’re excited about being released.

I have always loved reading these posts, looking forward at books that people can’t wait for. But I always find that I want a list and it is just one book. So I decided I would share three upcoming books that I can’t wait for. If you click on the title of the book it will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.


So for the past month or so I haven’t been requesting ARCs, but now that I’ve started again there are tons of books coming soon that look so good!


Shielded by Kaylynn FlandersShielded by KayLynn Flanders

For fans of Sorcery of Thorns and Furyborn comes a thrilling new fantasy about a kingdom ravaged by war, and the princess who might be the key to saving not only those closest to her, but the kingdom itself, if she reveals the very secret that could destroy her.

The kingdom of Hálendi is in trouble. It’s losing the war at its borders, and rumors of a new, deadlier threat on the horizon have surfaced. Princess Jennesara knows her skills on the battlefield would make her an asset and wants to help, but her father has other plans.

As the second-born heir to the throne, Jenna lacks the firstborn’s–her brother’s–magical abilities, so the king promises her hand in marriage to the prince of neighboring Turia in exchange for resources Hálendi needs. Jenna must leave behind everything she has ever known if she is to give her people a chance at peace.

Only, on the journey to reach her betrothed and new home, the royal caravan is ambushed, and Jenna realizes the rumors were wrong–the new threat is worse than anyone imagined. Now Jenna must decide if revealing a dangerous secret is worth the cost before it’s too late–for her and for her entire kingdom.

I feel like the blurb for this book doesn’t really say much, but the early reviews look incredible and many of my Goodreads friends said they whipped right through this one. Based on early reviews I did get an ARC of this one, it’s a debut as well so I’m taking a chance on this one and trusting the reviews. I feel like I will be going into this one pretty blind, but most of the time that works out pretty well for me!


Splinters of Scarlet by Emily Bain MurphySplinters of Scarlet by Emily Bain Murphy

Enchantée meets Downton Abbey in this atmospheric YA historical fantasy set in nineteenth-century Denmark, where secrets can kill and magic is a deadly gift.

For Marit Olsen, magic is all about strategy: it flows freely through her blood, but every use leaves behind a deadly, ice-like build-up within her veins called the Firn. Marit knows how dangerous it is to let too much Firn build up—after all, it killed her sister—and she has vowed never to use her thread magic. But when Eve, a fellow orphan whom Marit views like a little sister, is adopted by the wealthy Helene Vestergaard, Marit will do anything to stay by Eve’s side. She decides to risk the Firn and uses magic to secure a job as a seamstress in the Vestergaard household.

But Marit has a second, hidden agenda: her father died while working in the Vestergaards’ jewel mines—and it might not have been an accident. The closer Marit gets to the truth about the Vestergaard family, the more she realizes she and everyone she’s come to love are in danger. When she finds herself in the middle of a treacherous deception that goes all the way up to the king of Denmark, magic may be the only thing that can save her—if it doesn’t kill her first.

Okay so I discovered this book a few weeks ago when I was searching through upcoming fantasies and I found the concept of magic leaving behind a deadly build up in the veins fascinating. Of course I remembered that part of the blurb, but couldn’t remember the title. So I searched for about 30 minutes trying to find this book because obviously I was interested since it kept nagging at my thoughts. Today I finally got an ARC and I’m very excited to pick it up. I have really been into lush fantasy novels lately and this one just looks so good!!


The Princess Will Save You by Sarah HenningThe Princess Will Save You by Sarah Henning

A PRINCESS
A STABLE BOY
A QUEST

When her father dies, Princess Amarande is given an ultimatum: Marry the leader of one of the four neighboring kingdoms, or lose her crown—and possibly her life. And to force her hand, her beloved, the stable boy Luca, is kidnapped.

But Amarande was raised to be a warrior, not a sacrifice.

And nothing will stop her from saving her true love and rescuing her kingdom.

The acclaimed author of Sea Witch turns the classic damsel-in-distress tale on its head with this story of adventure, identity, and love.

This is a gender swapped re-telling of The Princess Bride, so obviously I grabbed myself an ARC. I am a little nervous though because that is quite the story to live up to! I do love the fierce female trend so I am hopeful for this one. I will probably wind up reading this one soon because I keep pulling it up on Goodreads and reading reviews for it.


Let’s Chat!

Are there any books coming out that you’re excited for? Are any of these books on your TBR? Have you read any of these books? What did you think? Which of these books looks most exciting to you? Make sure to comment below so we can chat about the books you can’t wait for!

6 thoughts on “Can’t Wait Wednesday — 6/10/20

Add yours

    1. If that was where I had just seen it I would have totally looked there first! lol I NEEDED that book obvi. Very excited to dive in. I should go scope your spring/summer fling again to see if there are titles I want to read also LOL

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: