Can’t Wait Wednesday — 7/29/20

40276268 - vintage old pocket watch and book
40276268 – vintage old pocket watch and book

Can’t Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings based on the meme Waiting on Wednesday by Breaking the Spine. In this weekly post people share a book that they’re excited about being released.

I have always loved reading these posts, looking forward at books that people can’t wait for. But I always find that I want a list and it is just one book. So I decided I would share three upcoming books that I can’t wait for. If you click on the title of the book it will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.


 

Beyond the Ruby Veil by Mara FitzgeraldBeyond the Ruby Veil by Mara Fitzgerald

A dark, queer YA fantasy that’s perfect for fans of the Three Dark Crowns series and Wicked Saints. After Emanuela Ragno kills the one person in Occhia who can create water, she must find a way to save her city from dying of thirst.

Emanuela Ragno always gets what she wants. With her daring mind and socialite schemes, she refuses to be the demure young lady everyone wants her to be. In her most ambitious move yet, she’s about to marry Alessandro Morandi, her childhood best friend and the heir to the wealthiest house in Occhia. Emanuela doesn’t care that she and her groom are both gay, because she doesn’t want a love match. She wants power, and through Ale, she’ll have it all.

But Emanuela has a secret that could shatter her plans. In the city of Occhia, the only source of water is the watercrea, a mysterious being who uses magic to make water from blood. When their first bruise-like omen appears on their skin, all Occhians must surrender themselves to the watercrea to be drained of life. Everyone throughout history has given themselves up for the greater good. Everyone except Emanuela. She’s kept the tiny omen on her hip out of sight for years.

When the watercrea exposes Emanuela during her wedding ceremony and takes her to be sacrificed, Emanuela fights back…and kills her. Now Occhia has no one to make their water and no idea how to get more. In a race against time, Emanuela and Ale must travel through the mysterious, blood-red veil that surrounds their city to uncover the secrets of the watercrea’s magic and find a way to save their people-no matter what it takes.

This is one upcoming release that I am super excited for! I got a physical ARC and I could not be more excited for it! I have been looking forward to this one before the cover was revealed, but WOW that cover is so beautiful! The early reviews are incredible, the blurb is extremely compelling and I’m totally here for the socialite and magical themes. The world sounds super cool and this book is supposed to be rather dark. This sounds different and exciting and I am super thrilled to be able to read it early!


The Midnight Bargain by CL PolkThe Midnight Bargain by C.L. Polk

Beatrice Clayborn is a sorceress who practices magic in secret, terrified of the day she will be locked into a marital collar that will cut off her powers to protect her unborn children. She dreams of becoming a full-fledged Magus and pursuing magic as her calling as men do, but her family has staked everything to equip her for Bargaining Season, when young men and women of means descend upon the city to negotiate the best marriages. The Clayborns are in severe debt, and only she can save them, by securing an advantageous match before their creditors come calling.

In a stroke of luck, Beatrice finds a grimoire that contains the key to becoming a Magus, but before she can purchase it, a rival sorceress swindles the book right out of her hands. Beatrice summons a spirit to help her get it back, but her new ally exacts a price: Beatrice’s first kiss . . . with her adversary’s brother, the handsome, compassionate, and fabulously wealthy Ianthe Lavan.

The more Beatrice is entangled with the Lavan siblings, the harder her decision becomes: If she casts the spell to become a Magus, she will devastate her family and lose the only man to ever see her for who she is; but if she marries—even for love—she will sacrifice her magic, her identity, and her dreams. But how can she choose just one, knowing she will forever regret the path not taken?

Recently I’ve had several people recommend Witchmark to me, so when a new book by C.L. Polk came across my radar I was pretty interested. When I read the blurb I didn’t hesitate to hit request! This book sounds absolutely incredible! It sounds witchy and has some feminist themes, so I’m pretty excited for it. I read a few pages and I absolutely loved the writing and the vibes it gave off. The whole idea of a ‘Bargaining Season’ interests me and I have seen similar ideas in other books like The Selection and The Winter Duke and loved them both. But the idea of a marital collar that cuts off women’s magic is absolutely horrifying and I can’t wait to see how it all plays off in the book. In history marriage was often a woman’s way out of poverty or her only real option for a future, so I am interested to see this in a book and hope that the main character is a fierce female who fights against this oppression of women.


The other side of the sky by megan spooner and Amie KaufmanThe Other Side of the Sky by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

“Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner prove they are two living goddesses of writing, creating two compelling worlds with high stakes and gripping emotions.” —Sarah Rees Brennan, New York Times bestselling author of the Demon’s Lexicon trilogy and the Lynburn Legacy series

New York Times bestselling author duo Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner have crafted a gripping tale of magic and logic, fate and choice, and a deadly love. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Brandon Sanderson.

Prince North’s home is in the sky, in a gleaming city held aloft by intricate engines, powered by technology. Nimh is the living goddess of her people on the Surface, responsible for providing answers, direction—hope.

North’s and Nimh’s lives are entwined—though their hearts can never be. Linked by a terrifying prophecy and caught between duty and fate, they must choose between saving their people or succumbing to the bond that is forbidden between them.

I have wanted to read several of Amie Kaufman’s books for quite a while now, especially Illuminae. Megan Spooner and Amie Kaufman have collaborated on several books that all looked pretty interesting. It’s marketed for fans of Brandon Sanderson and Laini Taylor, who are two of my favorite authors, so of course that is a huge selling point for me. I have read a few books that were set in the sky and find the idea intriguing.


Let’s Chat!

Are there any books coming out that you’re excited for? Are any of these books on your TBR? Have you read any of these books? What did you think? Which of these books looks most exciting to you? Make sure to comment below so we can chat about the books you can’t wait for!

8 thoughts on “Can’t Wait Wednesday — 7/29/20

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: