Top 5 Apocalyptic Books I Want to Read

top 5 apocalyptic books I want to read

This Top 5 series started back in October 2018 and it has grown really big! This is a series of books that all have a common theme. I post the schedule for the next month the last week of the prior month. You can talk about books you want to read or books you have read and all prompts are open for interpretation! Feel free to get as creative as you want with the prompts.


Upcoming Schedule!

November 14th, 2020  — Dress on the Cover

November 21st, 2020 — Books with 2 Authors

November 28th, 2020 — Cover Buys

December 5th, 2020 — Apocalyptic Books

December 12th, 2020 — Water on the Cover

December 19th, 2020 — Famous Authors

December 26th, 2020 — 2021 Releases


Rules!

  • Share your top 5 books of the current topic– these can be books that you want to read, have read and loved, have read and hated, you can do it any way you want.
  • Tag the original post (This one!)
  • Tag 5 people — So that more people can join us!!

Apocalyptic Books

Apocalyptic books are so fascinating. While right now some of the themes can feel a little too close to home, I do love the topic. There’s something about the end of the world that makes for really interesting stories. People show their true colors when they are fighting for survival and that can make for super interesting plots. I love survival themes and apocalyptic books are full of them. Dystopian books are good as well, but some of them can feel a bit unrealistic. Apocalyptic stories that are about the end of the world as we know it seem to feel more real than ever during this pandemic.


Feed by Mira GrantFeed by Mira Grant

The year was 2014. We had cured cancer. We had beaten the common cold. But in doing so we created something new, something terrible that no one could stop.

The infection spread, virus blocks taking over bodies and minds with one, unstoppable command: FEED. Now, twenty years after the Rising, bloggers Georgia and Shaun Mason are on the trail of the biggest story of their lives—the dark conspiracy behind the infected.

The truth will get out, even if it kills them.

I loved the one book that I read by Seanan McGuire (AKA Mira Grant) and I’ve wanted to read this book ever since. Everyone raves about this one and it just looks really good. A zombie pandemic book may feel a bit too close to home right now, but I would like to read this one eventually!


Breathe by Sarah CrossanBreathe by Sarah Crossan

The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can’t? And what if you think everything could be different? Three teens will leave everything they know behind in Sarah Crossan’s gripping and original dystopian teen novel of danger, longing, and glimmering hope.

Ever since the Switch, when the oxygen levels plummeted and most of humanity died, the survivors have been protected in glass domes full of manufactured air. Protected . . . or trapped? Or controlled? Alina’s a revolutionary who believes we can save the environment. Quinn’s a Premium who’s never had to worry about having enough air. His best friend, Bea, is an Auxiliary who’s never worried about anything but having enough air. When the three cross paths, they will change everything.

This book sounds really good. It’s been on my radar for quite a while. I’ve seen some books where Earth has become inhabitable, but those tend to be space novels. In this book there is limited oxygen and people have to pay to breathe. I think this could be really fascinating!


Monument 14 by Emmy LaybourneMonument 14 by Emmy Laybourne

Your mother hollers that you’re going to miss the bus. She can see it coming down the street. You don’t stop and hug her and tell her you love her. You don’t thank her for being a good, kind, patient mother. Of course not-you launch yourself down the stairs and make a run for the corner.

Only, if it’s the last time you’ll ever see your mother, you sort of start to wish you’d stopped and did those things. Maybe even missed the bus.

But the bus was barreling down our street, so I ran.

Fourteen kids. One superstore. A million things that go wrong.


When Dean raced out the door to catch the school bus, he didn’t realize it would be the last time he’d ever see his mom. After a freak hailstorm sends the bus crashing into a superstore, Dean and a group of students of all ages are left to fend for themselves.
They soon realize the hailstorm and the crash are the least of their worries. After seeing a series of environmental and chemical disasters ravage the outside world, they realize they’re trapped inside the store.
Unable to communicate with the ones they love, the group attempts to cobble together a new existence. As they struggle to survive, Dean and the others must decide which risk is greater: leaving… or staying.

Monument 14 is a post-apocalyptic YA novel that transcends age barriers.

Emmy Laybourne has been on my radar since I won a giveaway of one of her more recent novels. This series is the one that I’ve really wanted to read though. While the concept of people being stuck in a store during the apocalypse isn’t new, it is super intriguing. I’ve read several reviews and it sounds like this is a fast paced series that is totally binge read material.


The Girl with All the Gifts by MR CareyThe Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey

Melanie is a very special girl. Dr. Caldwell calls her “our little genius.”

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don’t like her. She jokes that she won’t bite, but they don’t laugh.

Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children’s cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she’ll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn’t know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

The Girl with All the Gifts is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin, and Neil Gaiman.

This book has been on my radar since a recommendation from Susan @ Novel Lives, but I still haven’t picked it up. I keep seeing the movie on Netflix and I really want to read the book before I watch the movie. Apparently this is one of those books that you read without knowing much about it.


Eve by Anna CareyEve by Anna Carey

Where do you go when nowhere is safe?

Sixteen years after a deadly virus wiped out most of Earth’s population, the world is a perilous place. Eighteen-year-old Eve has never been beyond the heavily guarded perimeter of her school, where she and two hundred other orphaned girls have been promised a future as the teachers and artists of the New America. But the night before graduation, Eve learns the shocking truth about her school’s real purpose and the horrifying fate that awaits her.

Fleeing the only home she’s ever known, Eve sets off on a long, treacherous journey, searching for a place she can survive. Along the way she encounters Arden, her former rival from school, and Caleb, a rough, rebellious boy living in the wild. Separated from men her whole life, Eve has been taught to fear them, but Caleb slowly wins her trust… and her heart. He promises to protect her, but when soldiers begin hunting them, Eve must choose between true love and her life.

In this epic new series, Anna Carey imagines a future that is both beautiful and terrifying.

This book sounds incredibly intriguing. This is another book about a global pandemic, but I think that since this book takes place after the pandemic has wiped out most of Earth’s population that I will be able to read it without comparing too much to our current situation. I also love books set at boarding schools, and this feels like a fresh take on the boarding school trope.


Check out other book blogger’s top 5 picks!

Jill @ Jill’s Book Blog — Top 5 Saturday — Apocalyptic Books

Becky @ Becky’s Book Blog — It’s the End of the World As We Know It – Top 5 Saturday

Dini @ Dinipandareads — Top 5 Saturday: Apocalyptic Books


Tagged! Join us this week or next!

Aaron @ Swords & Spectres

Gem @ Gemsbooknook

Lisa @ Way Too Fantasy

Lashaan @ Bookidote

Jenny @ Jenjenreviews


Let’s Chat!

What are some of your favorite apocalyptic books? Have you read any of the books I listed above? Which ones would you recommend? Make sure to comment below so we can chat about our favorite apocalyptic stories!

12 thoughts on “Top 5 Apocalyptic Books I Want to Read

Add yours

  1. The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey is definitely an excellent pick for this list! I saw the movie first but I’ll hopefully get around to the book sometime in the future too. The Boy on the Bridge was another great book too by him! Thanks for the tag and great top 5 for this theme! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: