Top 5 Books with Water on the Cover I Want to Read

Top 5 Books with Water on the Cover I Want to Read

This Top 5 series started back in October 2018 and it has grown really big! This is a series of books that all have a common theme. I post the schedule for the next month the last week of the prior month. You can talk about books you want to read or books you have read and all prompts are open for interpretation! Feel free to get as creative as you want with the prompts.


Upcoming Schedule!

November 14th, 2020  — Dress on the Cover

November 21st, 2020 — Books with 2 Authors

November 28th, 2020 — Cover Buys

December 5th, 2020 — Apocalyptic Books

December 12th, 2020 — Water on the Cover

December 19th, 2020 — Famous Authors

December 26th, 2020 — 2021 Releases


Rules!

  • Share your top 5 books of the current topic– these can be books that you want to read, have read and loved, have read and hated, you can do it any way you want.
  • Tag the original post (This one!)
  • Tag 5 people — So that more people can join us!!

Water on the Cover

I love topics like this that really give a lot of wiggle room to pick out books. I love books with water on the cover, probably because I love books set on the water, but I also think that it’s because water can be represented so many ways. Water can be peaceful, eerie, or powerful. It can give a warm breezy feel, or an icy darker vibe. Personally I do judge books by their covers, and I think that covers with water on them are enticing! There are so many books with water on the cover that I’m dying to read, but I finally narrowed it down to the top 5 books that I want to read.


To Kill A Kingdom by Alexandra ChristoTo Kill a Kingdom by Alexandra Christo

Princess Lira is siren royalty and the most lethal of them all. With the hearts of seventeen princes in her collection, she is revered across the sea. Until a twist of fate forces her to kill one of her own. To punish her daughter, the Sea Queen transforms Lira into the one thing they loathe most—a human. Robbed of her song, Lira has until the winter solstice to deliver Prince Elian’s heart to the Sea Queen or remain a human forever.

The ocean is the only place Prince Elian calls home, even though he is heir to the most powerful kingdom in the world. Hunting sirens is more than an unsavory hobby—it’s his calling. When he rescues a drowning woman in the ocean, she’s more than what she appears. She promises to help him find the key to destroying all of sirenkind for good—But can he trust her? And just how many deals will Elian have to barter to eliminate mankind’s greatest enemy?

This book has been on my TBR for a while now. It’s been recommended several times to me and it looks pretty great. It has enemies to lovers, mermaids and a villain as a protagonist. I really have to move this book up on my TBR because this looks like the perfect lighter read that is still a fantasy novel.


The other side of the sky by megan spooner and Amie KaufmanThe Other Side of the Sky by Amie Kaufman & Megan Spooner

New York Times bestselling author duo Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner have crafted a gripping tale of magic and logic, fate and choice, and a deadly love. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Brandon Sanderson.

Prince North’s home is in the sky, in a gleaming city held aloft by intricate engines, powered by technology. Nimh is the living goddess of her people on the Surface, responsible for providing answers, direction—hope.

North’s and Nimh’s lives are entwined—though their hearts can never be. Linked by a terrifying prophecy and caught between duty and fate, they must choose between saving their people or succumbing to the bond that is forbidden between them.

The main reason this made my TBR is because I’ve been meaning to check out a book by Amie Kaufman for ages now. But I also am super intrigued by the world in this book. It sounds like a mix between sci-fi and fantasy and I really love when those two genres meld. Based on the reviews it sounds like this will be a pretty fun read, hopefully I can get to it soon!


These Rebel Waves by Sara RaaschThese Rebel Waves by Sara Raasch

Adeluna is a soldier. Five years ago, she helped the magic-rich island of Grace Loray overthrow its oppressor, Argrid, a country ruled by religion. But adjusting to postwar life has not been easy. When an Argridian delegate vanishes during peace talks with Grace Loray’s new Council, Argrid demands brutal justice—but Lu suspects something more dangerous is at work.

Devereux is a pirate. As one of the outlaws called stream raiders who run rampant on Grace Loray, he pirates the island’s magic plants and sells them on the black market. But after Argrid accuses raiders of the diplomat’s abduction, Vex becomes a target. An expert navigator, he agrees to help Lu find the Argridian—but the truth they uncover could be deadlier than any war.

Benat is a heretic. The crown prince of Argrid, he harbors a secret obsession with Grace Loray’s forbidden magic. When Ben’s father, the king, gives him the shocking task of reversing Argrid’s fear of magic, Ben has to decide if one prince can change a devout country—or if he’s building his own pyre.

As conspiracies arise, Lu, Vex, and Ben will have to decide who they really are . . . and what they are willing to become for peace.

Ever since I read The Bone Ships and discovered just how much I love sea fantasy novels I have really wanted to read These Rebel Waves. I have been warned that this book isn’t as much about pirates as it’s advertised to be and that it’s more of a political fantasy. The blurb sounds really intriguing to me and I would love to check this one out!


Truthwitch by Susan DennardTruthwitch by Susan Dennard

In a continent on the edge of war, two witches hold its fate in their hands.

Young witches Safiya and Iseult have a habit of finding trouble. After clashing with a powerful Guildmaster and his ruthless Bloodwitch bodyguard, the friends are forced to flee their home.

Safi must avoid capture at all costs as she’s a rare Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lies. Many would kill for her magic, so Safi must keep it hidden – lest she be used in the struggle between empires. And Iseult’s true powers are hidden even from herself.

In a chance encounter at Court, Safi meets Prince Merik and makes him a reluctant ally. However, his help may not slow down the Bloodwitch now hot on the girls’ heels. All Safi and Iseult want is their freedom, but danger lies ahead. With war coming, treaties breaking and a magical contagion sweeping the land, the friends will have to fight emperors and mercenaries alike. For some will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.

This is one of those books that I missed out on when it came out and have wanted to read ever since. This series has quite a serious following and based on the blurb alone I can see why. I’ve also heard that it focuses on a female friendship and I’m super excited about that! The magic system sounds really cool, which is something that would sell me on a book by itself. Seriously, I need to get my hands on this book. This is a series I would love to binge read!


The Frozen Crown by Greta KelyThe Frozen Crown by Greta Kelly

Publication Date: January 12th, 2020

A princess with a powerful and dangerous secret must find a way to save her country from ruthless invaders in this exciting debut fantasy, the first novel in a thrilling duology packed with heroism, treachery, magic, and war.

Askia became heir to the Frozen Crown of Seravesh because of her devotion to her people. But her realm is facing a threat she cannot defeat by sheer will alone. The mad emperor of the Roven Empire has unleashed a horde of invading soldiers to enslave her lands. For months, her warriors have waged a valiant, stealth battle, yet they cannot stop the enemy’s advancement. Running out of time, she sets sail for sun-drenched Vishir, the neighboring land to the south, to seek help from its ruler, Emperor Armaan.

A young woman raised in army camps, Askia is ill-equipped to navigate Vishir’s labyrinthine political games. Her every move sinks her deeper into court intrigues which bewilder and repel her, leaving her vulnerable not only to enemies gathering at Vishir’s gates, but to those behind the palace walls.

And in this glittering court, where secrets are worth more than gold, Askia fears that one false step will expose her true nature. For Askia is a witch gifted with magical abilities—knowledge that could destroy not only her life but her people. As her adversaries draw closer, Askia is forced to make an impossible choice—and no matter what she decides, it may not be enough to prevent Seravesh’s fall.

The Frozen Crown is an upcoming release that I have pretty high hopes for. It’s an action packed YA fantasy with a cool magic system. It looks like it has a ton of potential and I hope to pick it up soon. There isn’t a lot of hype for this one yet, but it looks like something I will love, so hopefully this is a hidden gem!


Tagged! Join us this week or next!

Cherelle @ — A Bolt out of the Book

Sahi @– My World of Books

Kayla @ — Books and Blends

Rachel @ In Between Book Pages

Sareh @ — Sareh Lovasen


Check out other book blogger’s top 5 picks!

Alexis @ Alexiophiles — Top Five Saturday | Books with Water on the Cover

Dini @ Dinipandareads — Top 5 Saturday: Water on the Cover

Becky @ Becky’s Book Blog — Water on the Cover — Top 5 Saturday!

Kristin @ Lukten av trykksverte — Top Five Books: Books With Water On the Cover


Let’s Chat!

Do you like book covers with water on them? What are some of your favorite books that have water on the cover? Have you read any of the books listed above? What did you think? Make sure to comment below so we can chat about books with water on the cover!

10 thoughts on “Top 5 Books with Water on the Cover I Want to Read

Add yours

    1. Ahhh yaasss I’m so glad to hear that. This year I’ve really been digging the series. I recently binge read Queen of the Tearling and didnt love the last book the way I wanted to. So I’ve been looking for a good series to binge read but I’m nervous picking one out

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah I thought book one was pretty good and I even loved the direction book 2 went in, but the ending of book 3 just was disappointing. Like everything was just undone and it was for nothing. I would have preferred any other kind of ending. I hate when the ending of a series is like that.

        Witchlands looks really interesting though! I have high hopes for it. I actually just finished The Bone Maker by Sarah Beth Durst and loved it so much that I really want to read her other series The Queens of Renitha, have you read that one?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I totally picked up The Bone Maker on a whim not really expecting much from it, but thought I’d give it a chance since I gave 5 stars to Race the Sands. I really loved it, by the end of the 2nd chapter I was totally hooked.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: