Top 5 Books I Meant to Read in 2020

Top 5 Books I Meant to Read in 2020This Top 5 series started back in October 2018 and it has grown really big! This is a series of books that all have a common theme. I post the schedule for the next month the last week of the prior month. You can talk about books you want to read or books you have read and all prompts are open for interpretation! Feel free to get as creative as you want with the prompts.


Upcoming Schedule!

December 19th, 2020 — Famous Authors

December 26th, 2020 — 2021 Releases

January 2nd, 2021 — Books You Meant to Read Last Year

January 9th, 2021 — Multiple Points of View

January 16th, 2021 — Metal in the Title (Gold, Silver, Brass, Steel, etc.)

January 23rd, 2021 — Book about Competition (Tournament, race, sibling rivalry, etc.)

January 30th, 2021 — Weapons on the Cover

February 6th, 2021 — Royalty in the Title (King, Queen, Princess, Prince, etc.)

February 13th, 2021 — Book with Unique Format (Diary entries, verse, documents, podcast, blog, etc.)


Books I Meant to Read in 2020

As a book blogger I am always reading a ton and I’m always looking for new books. Which means that my TBR is always ridiculously huge. Sometimes I get review copies and I don’t get around to them in time, and other times I plan to read a book and it just gets put off again and again and eventually I completely forget about it. While not everything on my 2020 TBR will carry over into the new year, there are a lot of books that I didn’t get around to last year that I still would love to read! Below are the top 5 books that I meant to read in 2020!


The Once and Future Witches by Alix E HarrowThe Once and Future Witches by Alix E. Harrow

In 1893, there’s no such thing as witches. There used to be, in the wild, dark days before the burnings began, but now witching is nothing but tidy charms and nursery rhymes. If the modern woman wants any measure of power, she must find it at the ballot box.

But when the Eastwood sisters–James Juniper, Agnes Amaranth, and Beatrice Belladonna–join the suffragists of New Salem, they begin to pursue the forgotten words and ways that might turn the women’s movement into the witch’s movement. Stalked by shadows and sickness, hunted by forces who will not suffer a witch to vote-and perhaps not even to live-the sisters will need to delve into the oldest magics, draw new alliances, and heal the bond between them if they want to survive.

There’s no such thing as witches. But there will be.

This was one of my most hyped books of the year and I still haven’t read it! Honestly, the reason I’ve held off on this one is because I’m afraid of being disappointed! It’s really hard for me to go into a book when I have such high expectations for it. I guess I should just expect it to disappoint me and then if it doesn’t I will wind up being really happy.


The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V.E. SchwabThe Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V.E. Schwab

A Life No One Will Remember. A Story You Will Never Forget.

France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets.

Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world.

But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man in a hidden bookstore and he remembers her name.

V.E. Schwab has been haunting my TBR for years now, so when I saw that she had an upcoming book I wanted to get my grubby little hands on it. Well I wound up reading A Darker Shade of Magic recently and it was an epic disappointment, so this is another one that I haven’t picked up out of fear of being disappointed. V.E. Schwab has such a huge following that I had expected a lot more. While I was initially really excited for this one, I don’t really expect much of it. But the bookish community seemed to love it and it has been hanging out on the best seller table at work. I might have to give it a shot.


Where Dreams Descend by Janella AngelesWhere Dreams Descend by Janella Angeles

In a city covered in ice and ruin, a group of magicians face off in a daring game of magical feats to find the next headliner of the Conquering Circus, only to find themselves under the threat of an unseen danger striking behind the scenes.

As each act becomes more and more risky and the number of missing magicians piles up, three are forced to reckon with their secrets before the darkness comes for them next.

The Star: Kallia, a powerful showgirl out to prove she’s the best no matter the cost

The Master: Jack, the enigmatic keeper of the club, and more than one lie told

The Magician: Demarco, the brooding judge with a dark past he can no longer hide

Where Dreams Descend is the startling and romantic first book in Janella Angeles’ debut Kingdom of Cards fantasy duology where magic is both celebrated and feared, and no heart is left unscathed.

This is one of those books that I was excited for because of the cover, but the synopsis also sounds intriguing. The circus setting sounds so cool. Honestly, everything about this book looks promising, but YA fantasy has disappointed me a lot this year, so I wound up not picking this one up. It seems like everyone has read it and most everyone seemed to enjoy it. This is just one of those books that I kind of forgot about and never got around to.


The Obsidian Tower by Melissa CarusoThe Obsidian Tower by Melissa Caruso

The mage-marked granddaughter of a ruler of Vaskandar, Ryx was destined for power and prestige at the top of Vaskandran society. But her magic is broken; all she can do is uncontrollably drain the life from everything she touches, and Vaskandar has no place for a mage with unusable powers.

Then, one night, two terrible accidents befall her: Ryx accidentally kills a visiting dignitary in self-defense, activating a mysterious magical artifact sealed in an ancient tower in the heart of her family’s castle.

Ryx flees, seeking a solution to her deadly magic. She falls in with a group of unlikely magical experts investigating the disturbance in Vaskandar—and Ryx realizes that her family is in danger and her domain is at stake. She and her new colleagues must return to the family stronghold to take control of the artifact that everyone wants to claim—before it destroys the world.

I can’t believe I still haven’t read this one! I love the cover and I’m totally here for the dark vibes. Melissa Caruso is an author who I’ve wanted to check out for a while now, so I hope that I love this book because I would be able to check out her other series. This looks like a really good political fantasy and I will probably pick this one up soon!


The other side of the sky by megan spooner and Amie KaufmanThe Other Side of the Sky by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

New York Times bestselling author duo Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner have crafted a gripping tale of magic and logic, fate and choice, and a deadly love. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Brandon Sanderson.

Prince North’s home is in the sky, in a gleaming city held aloft by intricate engines, powered by technology. Nimh is the living goddess of her people on the Surface, responsible for providing answers, direction—hope.

North’s and Nimh’s lives are entwined—though their hearts can never be. Linked by a terrifying prophecy and caught between duty and fate, they must choose between saving their people or succumbing to the bond that is forbidden between them.

This book was just never was at the top of my TBR, so I never got around to it. It’s recommended to fans of Laini Taylor and Brandon Sanderson– UH THAT’S ME- so obviously I should probably have picked this up by now. It is definitely a blend of science fiction and fantasy, which is just different than so many other fantasy books out there. Although apparently this book ends on a cliffhanger, so it might be better for me that I didn’t read it right away so I don’t have to wait too long for the sequel.


Check out other book blogger’s Top 5 Picks!

Lauren @ Lala’s Book Reviews — Books I Meant to Read Last Year: Top 5 Saturday

Becky @ Becky’s Book Blog — Whoops I was Meant to Read.. Top 5 Saturday!

Blair @ Feed the Crime — -|My Pile of Shame… Top 5 Saturday|-

Jill @ Jill’s Book Blog — Top 5 Saturday– Books I Meant to Read Last Year


Let’s Chat

What books did you not get around to last year? Do you plan on reading them this year? Have you read any of the books that I listed above? What did you think? Make sure to comment below so we can chat about the books we meant to read in 2020!

 

26 thoughts on “Top 5 Books I Meant to Read in 2020

Add yours

    1. Ahhh! Really? Okay cool bc right now I’m actually in between reads and I was looking for a new book to start and I just couldnt decide. Maybe I will pick it up! Is it slow paced? I’ve been having a hard time with slow beginnings lately

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: