Top 5 Books with Family Relationships in the Title

Top 5 Books with Family Relationships in the TitleThis Top 5 series started back in October 2018 and it has grown really big! This is a series of books that all have a common theme. I post the schedule for the next month the last week of the prior month. You can talk about books you want to read or books you have read and all prompts are open for interpretation! Feel free to get as creative as you want with the prompts.


Upcoming Schedule!

January 30th, 2021 — Weapons on the Cover

February 6th, 2021 — Royalty in the Title (King, Queen, Princess, Prince, etc.)

February 13th, 2021 — Book with Unique Format (Diary entries, verse, documents, podcast, blog, etc.)

February 20th, 2021 — Books with Family Relationship in the Title (Mother, Father, Daughter, Brother, etc.)

February 27th, 2021 — Snow on the Cover

March 6th, 2021 — Gift Books (Books you got as a gift, would give as a gift or have given as a gift.)

March 13th, 2021 —  Fire on the Cover

March 20th, 2021 — Love Triangle


Books with Family Relationships in the Title

Okay so that is a super long title for a prompt, but there are so many good books with family terms in the title! As always I love picking prompts where you get to pick books just based on the title or the cover. I feel like everyone’s list always reflects their personal reading preferences and it’s really fun to see what they come up with. But I also really like books that focus on family relationships and hopefully books that have family terms in the title will have at least some focus on family relationships! Some of my favorite books with family terms in the title are: Daughter of Smoke and Bone, The Bone Shard Daughter, Daughter of the Pirate King, Star Daughter, The Dream Daughter, Sisters of Sword and Song, Confessions of the Sullivan Sisters, My Lovely Wife.


Sisters of the Snake by Sarena & Sasha NanuaSisters of the Snake by Sasha Nanua

Publication Date: June 15th, 2021

A lost princess. A dark puppet master. And a race against time—before all is lost.

Princess Rani longs for a chance to escape her gilded cage and prove herself. Ria is a street urchin, stealing just to keep herself alive.

When these two lives collide, everything turns on its head: because Ria and Rani, orphan and royal, are unmistakably identical.

A deal is struck to switch places—but danger lurks in both worlds, and to save their home, thief and princess must work together. Or watch it all fall into ruin.

Deadly magic, hidden temples, and dark prophecies: Sisters of the Snake is an action-packed, immersive fantasy that will thrill fans of The Crown’s Game and The Tiger at Midnight.

This is an Indian inspired #Ownvoices retelling of The Prince and the Pauper. I’ve read multiple books with the premise where two identical people switch places for whatever reason and it just doesn’t get old. This book has so many things that appeal to me, it has a main character that is a thief AND a main character who is royalty, it is a cultural #ownvoices fantasy, it’s a retelling and it’s also about family. I already know that I’m going to read this one super early and I have really high hopes for it.


The Echo Wife by Sarah GaileyThe Echo Wife by Sarah Gailey

I’m embarrassed, still, by how long it took me to notice. Everything was right there in the open, right there in front of me, but it still took me so long to see the person I had married.

It took me so long to hate him.


Martine is a genetically cloned replica made from Evelyn Caldwell’s award-winning research. She’s patient and gentle and obedient. She’s everything Evelyn swore she’d never be.

And she’s having an affair with Evelyn’s husband.

Now, the cheating bastard is dead, and both Caldwell wives have a mess to clean up.

Good thing Evelyn Caldwell is used to getting her hands dirty.

This book sounds so interesting! I have always been interested in books that explore genetic engineering or cloning and the premise of this book just sounds wild. I don’t read a lot of science fiction or dystopian books anymore, but this one just sounded so interesting that I couldn’t resist! A bunch of my friends have already read it and loved it, so hopefully I enjoy it too!


The Cousins by Karen M McManusThe Cousins by Karen McManus

Milly, Aubrey, and Jonah Story are cousins, but they barely know each another, and they’ve never even met their grandmother. Rich and reclusive, she disinherited their parents before they were born. So when they each receive a letter inviting them to work at her island resort for the summer, they’re surprised… and curious.

Their parents are all clear on one point—not going is not an option. This could be the opportunity to get back into Grandmother’s good graces. But when the cousins arrive on the island, it’s immediately clear that she has different plans for them. And the longer they stay, the more they realize how mysterious—and dark—their family’s past is.

The entire Story family has secrets. Whatever pulled them apart years ago isn’t over—and this summer, the cousins will learn everything.

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying comes your next obsession. You’ll never feel the same about family again.

Okay I know I’ve talked about this book several times in other Top 5 Saturday posts, but it’s still really high on my TBR and I STILL haven’t read it. I just haven’t needed a lighter mystery read lately. I am really excited for this one though because Karen McManus is really great at writing YA thrillers. This just sounds like the perfect book to read when I’m looking for something entertaining. It sounds like it’s full of drama and secrets and I love that stuff in my YA thrillers.


Daughters of the storm by kim wilkinsDaughters of the Storm by Kim Wilkins

Five very different sisters team up against their stepbrother to save their kingdom in this Norse-flavored fantasy epic–the start of a new series in the tradition of Naomi Novik, Peter V. Brett, and Robin Hobb.

FIVE ROYAL SISTERS. ONE CROWN.

They are the daughters of a king. Though they share the same royal blood, they could not be more different. Bluebell is a proud warrior, stronger than any man and with an ironclad heart to match. Rose’s heart is all too passionate: She is the queen of a neighboring kingdom, who is risking everything for a forbidden love. The twins: vain Ivy, who lives for admiration, and zealous Willow, who lives for the gods. And Ash, who is discovering a dangerous talent for magic that might be a gift–or a curse.

But when their father is stricken by a mysterious ailment, they must come together on a desperate journey to save him and prevent their treacherous stepbrother from seizing the throne. Their mission: find the powerful witch who can cure the king. But to succeed on their quest, they must overcome their differences, and hope that the secrets they hide from one another and the world are never brought to light. Because if this royal family breaks, it could destroy the kingdom.

This was the first book that came to mind when I thought of this prompt. I really wanted to read this book when I first got a copy last year, but I had a bunch of ARCs and I kinda forgot about it until this post. This just sounds so good! Five sisters go on a quest to find a witch to save their father and stop their stepbrother from taking the throne. It sounds like each sister has their own distinct personality and I’m super excited that it’s got multiple points of view. Rereading the blurb just made me want to read this book like RIGHT NOW, so I have to find time for this one ASAP.


Daughter of the burning city by Amanda FoodyDaughters of the Burning City by Amanda Foody

Sixteen-year-old Sorina has spent most of her life within the smoldering borders of the Gomorrah Festival. Yet even among the many unusual members of the traveling circus-city, Sorina stands apart as the only illusion-worker born in hundreds of years. This rare talent allows her to create illusions that others can see, feel and touch, with personalities all their own. Her creations are her family, and together they make up the cast of the Festival’s Freak Show.

But no matter how lifelike they may seem, her illusions are still just that—illusions, and not truly real. Or so she always believed…until one of them is murdered.

Desperate to protect her family, Sorina must track down the culprit and determine how they killed a person who doesn’t actually exist. Her search for answers leads her to the self-proclaimed gossip-worker Luca, and their investigation sends them through a haze of political turmoil and forbidden romance, and into the most sinister corners of the Festival. But as the killer continues murdering Sorina’s illusions one by one, she must unravel the horrifying truth before all of her loved ones disappear
.

Honestly, this book has been on my TBR for years because I like the author and I think the cover looks really cool. I just read the blurb and it does sound really interesting. A traveling circus and a main character who is an illusion-worker was enough to get me intrigued, but there is also a mystery like plot. I would probably pick this up just because Amanda Foody wrote it, but after actually reading the blurb I’m even more excited.


Tagged! Join this week or in the future!

Maya @ Her Bookish Desires

MomsBookCollection

Rosemarie @ Wanders Between Pages

Stacey, Justin & Nikole @ A Court of Coffee & Books

Andie @ Books, Coffee & Passion


Check out other book blogger’s Top 5 picks!

 


Let’s Chat!

What are some of your favorite books with a family term in the title? Have you read any of the books I mentioned in my post? What did you think? Are there any books not on this list that you would recommend? Make sure to comment below so we can chat about books with family terms in the title!

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Books with Family Relationships in the Title

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: