Top 5 Books with Fire on the Cover I Want to Read

This Top 5 series started back in October 2018 and it has grown really big! This is a series of books that all have a common theme. I post the schedule for the next month the last week of the prior month. You can talk about books you want to read or books you have read and all prompts are open for interpretation! Feel free to get as creative as you want with the prompts.


Upcoming Schedule!

February 13th, 2021 — Book with Unique Format (Diary entries, verse, documents, podcast, blog, etc.)

February 20th, 2021 — Books with Family Relationship in the Title (Mother, Father, Daughter, Brother, etc.)

February 27th, 2021 — Snow on the Cover

March 6th, 2021 — Gift Books (Books you got as a gift, would give as a gift or have given as a gift.)

March 13th, 2021 —  Fire on the Cover

March 20th, 2021 — Love Triangle

March 27th, 2021 — Desert Setting

April 3rd, 2021 — Diverse Characters

April 10th, 2021 — Blood on the Cover

April 17th, 2021 — Longest Books (Books you’ve read, on your TBR.)


Fire on the Cover

As always I enjoy Top 5 Saturday topics where the books are picked based on their covers. So many different types of books share similar cover elements and it’s always fun to see what everyone comes up with. I did notice that a lot of the books with fire on the cover were a bit darker reads, so I’m interested to see if everyone else agrees with that. I actually had a bit of a hard time finding unread books for this week’s topic. There were lots of books that I could think of that I had read that had fire on the cover and some of those are: The Furies, Crown of Feathers, Middlegame, The Candle and the Flame, Shadow Frost, The Never Tilting World, The Merciful Crow. I’d love to hear your thoughts on books with fire on the cover, so don’t forget to comment below so we can chat!


A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess

I am Henrietta Howel. The first female sorcerer. The prophesied one. Or am I?

Henrietta Howel can burst into flames. When she is brought to London to train with Her Majesty’s sorcerers, she meets her fellow sorcerer trainees, young men eager to test her powers and her heart. One will challenge her. One will fight for her. One will betray her. As Henrietta discovers the secrets hiding behind the glamour of sorcerer life, she begins to doubt that she’s the true prophesied one. With battle looming, how much will she risk to save the city–and the one she loves?

 

A few months back I read House of Dragons and it absolutely blew my mind. Ever since then I’ve wanted to pick up A Shadow Bright and Burning, which is also by Jessica Cluess. A Shadow Bright and Burning is much more my type of book than House of Dragons was, so it’s possible I might enjoy this book even more. Out of all the books on this list, A Shadow Bright and Burning is probably the book that I’m most excited to pick up!


Foundryside by Robert Jackson Bennett

Sancia Grado is a thief, and a damn good one. And her latest target, a heavily guarded warehouse on Tevanne’s docks, is nothing her unique abilities can’t handle.

But unbeknownst to her, Sancia’s been sent to steal an artifact of unimaginable power, an object that could revolutionize the magical technology known as scriving. The Merchant Houses who control this magic–the art of using coded commands to imbue everyday objects with sentience–have already used it to transform Tevanne into a vast, remorseless capitalist machine. But if they can unlock the artifact’s secrets, they will rewrite the world itself to suit their aims.

Now someone in those Houses wants Sancia dead, and the artifact for themselves. And in the city of Tevanne, there’s nobody with the power to stop them.

To have a chance at surviving—and at stopping the deadly transformation that’s under way—Sancia will have to marshal unlikely allies, learn to harness the artifact’s power for herself, and undergo her own transformation, one that will turn her into something she could never have imagined.

I got a review copy of this book when it first came out and back then long books really intimidated me. Now I love long fantasies and I am thrilled to see the incredible reviews for this book. I had completely forgotten about this book and I’m so glad that it came back across my radar when looking for books for this post. Foundryside has a main character who is a thief and has a magic system that has been compared to Brandon Sanderson’s work. While this book might not have been my tastes back when I first got a copy it sounds like a perfect fit for me now! I really can’t believe that I haven’t read this one yet.


Legacy of Ash by Matthew Ward

Legacy of Ash is an unmissable fantasy debut–an epic tale of intrigue and revolution, soldiers and assassins, ancient magic and the eternal clash of empires.

A shadow has fallen over the Tressian Republic.

Ruling families — once protectors of justice and democracy — now plot against one another with sharp words and sharper knives. Blinded by ambition, they remain heedless of the threat posed by the invading armies of the Hadari Empire.

Yet as Tressia falls, heroes rise.

Viktor Akadra is the Republic’s champion. A warrior without equal, he hides a secret that would see him burned as a heretic.

Josiri Trelan is Viktor’s sworn enemy. A political prisoner, he dreams of reigniting his mother’s failed rebellion.

And yet Calenne Trelan, Josiri’s sister, seeks only to break free of their tarnished legacy; to escape the expectation and prejudice that haunts the family name.

As war spreads across the Republic, these three must set aside their differences in order to save their home. Yet decades of bad blood are not easily set aside. And victory — if it comes at all — will demand a darker price than any of them could have imagined.

I love to get absorbed in a well written epic fantasy and this series looks SO good. The reviews are absolutely incredible and this looks like the kind of book that will wind up sticking with me for a long time. It sounds action packed and has multiple points of view. I have really high hopes for this book, but have been waiting for the right time to pick it up.


We Are the Fire by Sam Taylor

As electrifying as it is heartbreaking, Sam Taylor’s explosive fantasy debut We Are the Fire is perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes and the legend of Spartacus.

In the cold, treacherous land of Vesimaa, children are stolen from their families by a cruel emperor, forced to undergo a horrific transformative procedure, and serve in the army as magical fire-wielding soldiers. Pran and Oksana―both taken from their homeland at a young age―only have each other to hold onto in this heartless place.

Pran dreams of one day rebelling against their oppressors and destroying the empire; Oksana only dreams of returning home and creating a peaceful life for them both.

When they discover the emperor has a new, more terrible mission than ever for their kind, Pran and Oksana vow to escape his tyranny once and for all. But their methods and ideals differ drastically, driving a wedge between them. Worse still, they both soon find that the only way to defeat the monsters that subjugated them may be to become monsters themselves.

I picked up a review copy of this one because the blurb sounded fascinating, but it really seems to be flying under the radar. The reviews are good, but not enough people have reviewed it for me to get a good feel for it. Regardless of popularity this book sounds really fascinating and I’m willing to take a chance on a lesser known book in hopes that it winds up being incredible.


Darling by K. Ancrum

Publication Date: June 22nd, 2021

A teen girl finds herself lost on a dangerous adventure in this YA thriller by the acclaimed author of The Wicker King and The Weight of the Stars—reimagining Peter Pan for today’s world.

On Wendy Darling’s first night in Chicago, a boy called Peter appears at her window. He’s dizzying, captivating, beautiful—so she agrees to join him for a night on the town.

Wendy thinks they’re heading to a party, but instead they’re soon running in the city’s underground. She makes friends—a punk girl named Tinkerbelle and the lost boys Peter watches over. And she makes enemies—the terrifying Detective Hook, and maybe Peter himself, as his sinister secrets start coming to light. Can Wendy find the courage to survive this night—and make sure everyone else does, too?

Acclaimed author K. Ancrum has re-envisioned Peter Pan with a central twist that will send all your previous memories of J. M. Barrie’s classic permanently off to Neverland.

I requested a review copy of Darling on impulse and I was regretting it until I reread the blurb while researching this post. The blurb kind of reminds me of Survive the Night, but a fantasy rather than a horror. The underground subway setting is one that got me to pick up Survive the Night and is a major reason that I’m interested in Darling. It sounds like a dark retelling of Peter Pan and personally I am a huge fan of retellings that have a darker spin.


Check out other book blogger’s top 5 picks!

Lou @ Lousbookstuff — Top 5 Saturday — 5 Books on my TBR with Flames on the Cover that I Really Want to Read

Jill @ Jill’s Book Blog — Top 5 Saturday — Fire on the Cover

Donna @ Mom’s Book Collection — Top 5 Books | Fire on the Cover

Becky @ Becky’s Book Blog — Books With Fire on the Cover — Top 5 Saturday!

Etta @ Chonky Books — ~Top 5 Saturday: Fire on the Cover ~


Let’s Chat!

What are some of your favorite books with fire on the cover? Do you like book covers that have fire in the design? Have you read any of the books listed above? What did you think? Make sure to comment below so we can chat about books with fire on the cover!

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Books with Fire on the Cover I Want to Read

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: