The Hawthorne Legacy by Jennifer Lynn Barnes — Blog Tour

The Hawthorne Legacy by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Summary:

Intrigue, riches, and romance abound in this thrilling sequel to the New York Times bestselling The Inheritance Games perfect for fans of Karen McManus and Holly Jackson.

The Inheritance Games ended with a bombshell, and now heiress Avery Grambs has to pick up the pieces and find the man who might hold the answers to all of her questions – including why Tobias Hawthorne left his entire fortune to Avery, a virtual stranger, rather than to his own daughters or grandsons.

Thanks to a DNA test, Avery knows that she’s not a Hawthorne by blood, but clues pile up hinting at a deeper connection to the family than she had ever imagined. As the mystery grows and the plot thickens, Grayson and Jameson, the enigmatic and magnetic Hawthorne grandsons, continue to pull Avery in different directions. And there are threats lurking around every corner, as adversaries emerge who will stop at nothing to see Avery out of the picture – by any means necessary.

With nonstop action, aspirational jet-setting, family intrigue, swoonworthy romance, and billions of dollars hanging in the balance, The Hawthorne Legacy will thrill Jennifer Lynn Barnes fans and new readers alike.


Book Links:

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/50531218-the-hawthorne-legacy

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Hawthorne-Legacy-Inheritance-Games/dp/0759557632/ref=sr_1_1?crid=2RJHJS0Y29P88&dchild=1&keywords=the+hawthorne+legacy&qid=1628099183&s=books&sprefix=the+haw%2Cstripbooks-intl-ship%2C188&sr=1-1 

Barnes and Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-hawthorne-legacy-jennifer-lynn-barnes/1138451385?ean=9780316366137 

Book Depository: https://www.bookdepository.com/Hawthorne-Legacy-Jennifer-Lynn-Barnes/9780759557635?ref=grid-view&qid=1628099240596&sr=1-2 

Indigo: https://www.chapters.indigo.ca/en-ca/books/the-hawthorne-legacy/9780759557635-item.html?ikwid=the+hawthorne+legacy&ikwsec=Home&ikwidx=0#algoliaQueryId=5a5387a53cc7d9f1e5cefde0b742c291 

IndieBound: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9780759557635 


Review: 4 Stars

I’ve been a big fan of Jennifer Lynn Barnes for years. Her books are my first choice when I’m looking for something light and fun, so I was thrilled to get my hands on a review copy of the next installment in her latest series. This series is a culmination of all the things I love, a good mystery, a fun story and a puzzle to solve. Jennifer Lynn Barnes knows how to write a fast paced story that keeps me captivated all the way through and that proved to be true once again with The Hawthorne Legacy.

As a person who has done several escape rooms, many murder mystery boxes and several seasons of Hunt a Killer, the puzzle aspect of this series really called to me. This installment had all the things that I loved about the first, there were puzzles to solve, hidden compartments and passageways, and another mystery to unravel. I really love the plot of this book where there is a hidden mystery left behind to solve. All sorts of secrets and lies about the Hawthorne family came out along the way and this story really kept me on my toes. There were many twists and turns that I never saw coming and the pace kept me flipping the pages late into the night.

I love all the characters in this series. Avery is a really relatable main character to follow. I love every single one of the Hawthorne boys as well, but especially Jamison. I loved how they all got involved in the game and how they got competitive with one another. The dialogue really brought all of the characters to life. The banter was so much fun to read and added so much personality to the characters. Jennifer Lynn Barnes did a fantastic job making each of the characters distinct and unique.

I really love this series and unraveling the mystery alongside Avery and the Hawthorne boys. I already can not wait for the next installment in this series. I’ve been a longtime fan of Jennifer Lynn Barnes and have read many of her books, but this series is probably my favorite. If you like puzzles or just want a fun YA mystery series to read, then you should really check this series out!

Check out my review of The Inheritance Games!


Favorite Quotes!

“Far be it from me to interrupt banter,” Xander interjected. “But this is my lead. And my sledgehammer!” He heaved it over his shoulder.

I stared at the wall and wondered what lay beyond it. “Are you sure about this?” I asked Xander.

He took a deep breath. “As sure as anyone holding a sledgehammer has ever been.”


I have a secret about the day you were born. I could hear my mom, as clearly as if she were in the room with me. I have a secret. It was a game we had played my whole life. She was wonderful at guessing my secrets. I’d never guessed hers.


I wanted answers. This wasn’t just a mystery that needed solving or another layer to a puzzle. It wasn’t a game— not to me.

Not anymore.


“Allow me to let you in on a Hawthorne trade secret, Heiress: There are no rules that matter more than winning.”


“So, to summarize,” Max said, “the dead uncle? Not dead, might be your father. Hot boys are also tragic, everyone wants a piece of your fine ash, and the woman who tried to have you killed is foxing your father?”

I winced. “That pretty much covers it.”


Author Bio:

Jennifer Lynn Barnes (who mostly goes by Jen) was born in Tulsa, Oklahoma. She has been, in turn, acompetitive cheerleader, a volleyball player, a dancer, a debutante, a primate cognition researcher,a teen model, a comic book geek, and a lemur aficionado. She’s been writing for as long as she canremember, finished her first full book (which she now refers to as a “practice book” and which none of you will ever see) when she was still in high school, and then wrote Golden the summer after herfreshman year in college, when she was nineteen.Jen graduated high school in 2002, and from Yale University with a degree in cognitive science (thestudy of the brain and thought) in May of 2006. She’ll be spending the 2006-2007 schoolyearabroad, doing autism research at the University of Cambridge in the United Kingdom

Author Links

Website: http://www.jenniferlynnbarnes.com/ 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/jenlynnbarnes 

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/authorjenlynnbarnes/ 

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/164187.Jennifer_Lynn_Barnes 


Blog Tour Schedule!

September 6th
Rania’s Rambling Reads – Review & Mood Board
Ace Reader – Review
Books Over Everything – Review
Devouring Books – Review & Favourite Quotes

September 7th
Nine Bookish Lives – Review
The Reading Raccoon – Review
The Ink Slinger – Top 5 Reasons to Read The Hawthorne Legacy & Mood Board
Shelf Love – Review

September 8th
Emelie’s Books – Review & Mood Board
thisbellereadstoo – Review & Favourite Quotes
Rajiv’s Reviews – Review
The Blind Scribe – Review & Mood Board

September 9th
Stuck in Fiction – Promo Post
AndOnSheReads – Review
The Lady With Books – Top 5 Reasons to Read The Hawthorne Legacy

September 10th
Confessions of a YA Reader – Promo Post
The Bookwyrm’s Den – Review
MissBookishRebel – Top 5 Reasons to Read The Hawthorne Legacy
I Dream in Books – Review & Journal Spread

September 11th
Book Lover’s Book Reviews – Review
Jen Jen Reviews – Review
Magical Reads – Review
Kait Plus Books – Review, Favourite Quotes & Mood Board

September 12th
The Book Dutchesses – Review
A Court of Coffee and Books – Review & Favourite Quotes
The Fictional Journal – Top 5 Reasons to Read The Hawthorne Legacy & Mood Board
Adventurous Bookworm – Review & Favourite Quotes


Instagram Tour Schedule!

September 6th
booking.with.janelle. – Review & Favourite
books_over_everything – Blogger’s Choice
wilcoxmandy – Blogger’s Choice

September 7th
tinybooknest – Top 5 Reasons to Read The Hawthorne Legacy & 15 Reactions While Reading The Hawthorne Legacy
ninebookishlives – Blogger’s Choice
thereadingracoon – Blogger’s Choice

September 8th
tbrandbeyond – Promo Post
rajivsreviews – Blogger’s Choice
the_blind_scribe – Blogger’s Choice

September 9th
hturningpages – Favourite Quotes & Top 5 Reasons to Read The Hawthorne Legacy
simplybeccamee – Review
theladywithbooks_ – Blogger’s Choice

September 10th
beauty_in_the_bookworm – Review
bookishrebel01 – Blogger’s Choice
idreaminbooks – Blogger’s Choice

September 11th
clarkbookreviews – Review
bookloversbookreviews – Blogger’s Choice
kaitplusbooks – Blogger’s Choice

September 12th
timeswithbooks – Review
thebookdutchesses – Blogger’s Choice
acourtofcoffeeandbooksblog – Blogger’s Choice

10 thoughts on “The Hawthorne Legacy by Jennifer Lynn Barnes — Blog Tour

Add yours

  1. The mysterious and unexpected inheritance is such an exploited trope in the UK. The author must have picked it up during her time in Cambridge. The concept sounds intriguing but unrealistic. Never heard of a billionaire who left his fortune in such way. Cinderella was born as a princess and schemed to get her prince, thinking of it as her birth right. The princess getting a prince is a different story than the blue collar girl inheriting a Kingdom.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: