Can’t Wait Wednesday — 10/23/19

Can't Wait Wednesday Square.jpg

Can’t Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endingsbased on the meme Waiting on Wednesday by Breaking the Spine. In this weekly post people share a book that they’re excited about being released.

I have always loved reading these posts, looking forward at books that people can’t wait for. But I always find that I want a list and it is just one book. So I decided I would share three books that I can’t wait for. If you click on the title of the book it will take you to the book’s Goodreads page


A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy.jpgA River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy

Publication Date: October 29th, 2019

An enthralling debut perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone set in a North African-inspired fantasy world where two sisters must fight to the death to win the crown.

Sixteen-year-old Eva is a princess, born with the magick of marrow and blood–a dark and terrible magick that hasn’t been seen for generations in the vibrant but fractured country of Myre. Its last known practitioner was Queen Raina, who toppled the native khimaer royalty and massacred thousands, including her own sister, eight generations ago, thus beginning the Rival Heir tradition. Living in Raina’s long and dark shadow, Eva must now face her older sister, Isa, in a battle to the death if she hopes to ascend to the Ivory Throne–because in the Queendom of Myre only the strongest, most ruthless rulers survive.

When Eva is attacked by an assassin just weeks before the battle with her sister, she discovers there is more to the attempt on her life than meets the eye–and it isn’t just her sister who wants to see her dead. As tensions escalate, Eva is forced to turn to a fey instructor of mythic proportions and a mysterious and handsome khimaer prince for help in growing her magick into something to fear. Because despite the love she still has for her sister, Eva will have to choose: Isa’s death or her own.

A River of Royal Blood is an enthralling debut set in a lush North African inspired fantasy world that subtly but powerfully challenges our notions of power, history, and identity.

This was a book that I wanted really bad, but couldn’t get an eARC of. I asked for a physical copy months ago and just heard back! I’m going to be on the blog tour in the beginning of November and I am SO happy to have this beauty in my hands.


We Are Blood and Thunder by Kesia LupoWe Are Blood and Thunder by Kesia Lupo

Publication Date: March 3rd, 2020

In a sealed-off city, it begins with a hunt. A young woman, Lena, running for her life, convicted of being a mage and sentenced to death. Her only way to survive is to trust those she has been brought up to fear – those with magic.

On the other side of the locked gates is a masked lady, Constance, determined to find a way back in. She knows only too well how the people of Duke’s Forest loathe magic. Years ago she escaped before her powers were discovered. But now she won’t hide who she is any longer.

A powerful and terrifying storm cloud unites them. It descends over the dukedom and devastates much in its wake. But this is more than a thunderstorm. This is a spell, and the truth behind why it has been cast is more sinister than anyone can imagine … Only Lena and Constance hold the key to destroying the spell. Though neither of them realise it, they need each other. They are the blood and they have the thunder within.

I LOVE books where magic is feared, probably because I think that’s how people would react in real life. I’ve heard that this book hooks the reader right from the beginning, so I am really excited for it. I have a physical copy of this as well and I am trying not to get my expectations up too high.


The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae.jpgThe Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae

Publication Date: June 16th, 2020

Perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Holly Black, this enthralling fantasy adventure follows a teenage girl chosen to be the human sacrifice in a deadly game between three heirs who will do anything for the crown.

In the magical kingdom of Orkena, Zahru has long dreamed of a life beyond the desert, even though she knows her lowly position as a stable girl who can commune with animals will never afford her such a luxury.

All that changes when the ailing ruler invokes an ancient tradition known as the Crossing. It’s a death-defying race across the desert, in which the first of his heirs to finish–and take the life of a human sacrifice at the journey’s end–will ascend to the throne and be granted unparalleled abilities.

As preparations and celebrations commence, Zahru jumps at the chance to experience a small taste of glamour by sneaking into the palace. But the minor indiscretion quickly turns into the worst mistake of her life as she gets caught up in a feud between the heirs and is ultimately forced to become the Crossing’s human sacrifice. Zahru is left with only one hope for survival: somehow figuring out how to overcome the most powerful people in the world.

This book doesn’t come out until June, but the second I stumbled across it I knew I wanted it. First of all, that cover is GORGEOUS! But it’s also marketed as great for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Holly Black, so obviously I think it might wind up being fantastic. When I read the synopsis and saw it was about a human sacrifice and a fight for the crown I was absolutely sold.


Let’s Chat!

What books can you not wait for? Are you excited for the books I listed? Are you going to add any of these to your TBR? Have you read any of them yet? Have you read any other titles that any of these authors have written? Make sure to comment so we can talk about titles we can’t wait to read!

4 thoughts on “Can’t Wait Wednesday — 10/23/19

Add yours

  1. Ah these all sound fab! I hadn’t come across The Kinder Poison so that is now on my radar! I really need to get through some more books this year before I start getting too excited about next years releases… Yeah okay, you know that I am going to go check out all the 2020 book lists now as I am weak…. :p

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: